MLB Player Stats - Eddie Butler - Chi Cubs

MLB Baseball
News | Scoreboard | Matchups | Stats | Standings | Teams | Players | Player News | Injuries | Transactions
#33
Eddie Butler
ERA W-L K
3.95 4-3 30
Team: Chi CubsHt / Wt: 6-2 / 180 NFBC ADP: 662.01
Position: SPBorn: 3/13/1991 Birthplace: Chesapeake, Virginia
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Supplemental Round by Rockies (2012)


Latest News
July 18 4:14 PM PT5:14 PM MT6:14 PM CT7:14 PM ET19:14 ET23:14 GMT7:14 4:14 PM MST6:14 PM EST6:44 PM VEN3:14 UAE (+1)6:14 PM CT-Butler was optioned to Triple-A Iowa.
Analysis: Butler, who has not started since July 7, is 4-3 with a 3.95 ERA this season.
July 15 7:48 PM PT8:48 PM MT9:48 PM CT10:48 PM ET22:48 ET2:48 GMT10:48 7:48 PM MST9:48 PM EST10:18 PM VEN6:48 UAE (+1)9:48 PM CT-Eddie Butler allowed one run on two hits and one walk in 1.1 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Baltimore Orioles 10-3 on Saturday. Butler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.95 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
July 7 4:24 PM PT5:24 PM MT6:24 PM CT7:24 PM ET19:24 ET23:24 GMT7:24 4:24 PM MST6:24 PM EST6:54 PM VEN3:24 UAE (+1)6:24 PM CT-Eddie Butler allowed four hits and three walks without giving up a run in 4.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 6-1 on Friday. Butler struck out one, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
July 1 5:34 PM PT6:34 PM MT7:34 PM CT8:34 PM ET20:34 ET0:34 GMT8:34 5:34 PM MST7:34 PM EST8:04 PM VEN4:34 UAE (+1)7:34 PM CT-Eddie Butler fell to 4-3, allowing four runs on five hits and three walks in 3.2 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Cincinnati Reds 5-3 on Saturday. Butler struck out two, ending the game with a 4.18 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
June 27 10:42 AM PT11:42 AM MT12:42 PM CT1:42 PM ET13:42 ET17:42 GMT1:42 10:42 AM MST12:42 PM EST1:12 PM VEN21:42 UAE12:42 PM CT-Eddie Butler improved to 4-2, allowing four hits over 5.0 scoreless innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Washington Nationals 5-4 on Monday. Butler struck out one, ending the game with a 3.71 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
June 21 2:45 PM PT3:45 PM MT4:45 PM CT5:45 PM ET17:45 ET21:45 GMT5:45 2:45 PM MST4:45 PM EST5:15 PM VEN1:45 UAE (+1)4:45 PM CT-Eddie Butler allowed one run on five hits and three walks in 4.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the San Diego Padres 3-2 on Wednesday. Butler struck out four, ending the game with a 4.19 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Butler is 0-1 with a 4.91 ERA in his last three starts. He's allowed 15 hits and seven walks over 14 2/3 innings in those outings.
June 16 8:24 PM PT9:24 PM MT10:24 PM CT11:24 PM ET23:24 ET3:24 GMT11:24 8:24 PM MST10:24 PM EST10:54 PM VEN7:24 UAE (+1)10:24 PM CT-Butler allowed four runs on four hits and three walks in 5.2 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 9-5 on Friday. Butler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.41 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Butler continues to be serviceable but has no fantasy value.
June 10 3:00 PM PT4:00 PM MT5:00 PM CT6:00 PM ET18:00 ET22:00 GMT6:00 3:00 PM MST5:00 PM EST5:30 PM VEN2:00 UAE (+1)5:00 PM CT-Eddie Butler fell to 3-2, allowing three runs on six hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Colorado Rockies 9-1 on Saturday. Butler struck out three, ending the game with a 4.03 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The Cubs acquired Butler from the Rockies on Feb. 1 after he went 6-16 with a 6.50 ERA in 36 games - 28 starts - for Colorado from 2014-16.
June 6 9:12 PM PT10:12 PM MT11:12 PM CT12:12 AM ET0:12 ET4:12 GMT12:12 9:12 PM MST11:12 PM EST11:42 PM VEN8:12 UAE11:12 PM CT-Butler improved to 3-1, allowing one run on three hits and one walk in 5.2 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Miami Marlins 3-1 on Monday.
Analysis: Butler struck out four, ending the game with a 3.75 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
May 31 10:28 AM PT11:28 AM MT12:28 PM CT1:28 PM ET13:28 ET17:28 GMT1:28 10:28 AM MST12:28 PM EST12:58 PM VEN21:28 UAE12:28 PM CT-Eddie Butler fell to 2-1, allowing six runs on seven hits and three walks in 4.1 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the San Diego Padres 6-2 on Tuesday. Butler struck out five, ending the game with a 4.42 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
May 25 5:31 PM PT6:31 PM MT7:31 PM CT8:31 PM ET20:31 ET0:31 GMT8:31 5:31 PM MST7:31 PM EST8:01 PM VEN4:31 UAE (+1)7:31 PM CT-Eddie Butler improved to 2-0, allowing one run on four hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the San Francisco Giants 5-1 on Thursday. Butler struck out one, ending the game with a 1.93 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
May 19 5:45 PM PT6:45 PM MT7:45 PM CT8:45 PM ET20:45 ET0:45 GMT8:45 5:45 PM MST7:45 PM EST8:15 PM VEN4:45 UAE (+1)7:45 PM CT-Eddie Butler allowed two runs on three hits and five walks in 3.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 6-3 on Friday. Butler struck out three.
Analysis: It was Butler's second start with the Cubs after he allowed two hits and three walks with five strikeouts over six scoreless innings to defeat the St. Louis Cardinals 3-2 last Friday.
May 12 8:35 PM PT9:35 PM MT10:35 PM CT11:35 PM ET23:35 ET3:35 GMT11:35 8:35 PM MST10:35 PM EST11:05 PM VEN7:35 UAE (+1)10:35 PM CT-Eddie Butler improved to 1-0, allowing two hits and three walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 3-2 on Friday. Butler struck out five, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.83 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Butler went 6-16 with a 6.50 ERA and a 1.77 WHIP in three seasons for Colorado, but may have a chance to revive his career with the Cubs. The 26-year-old has at least earned himself another turn through the rotation with Friday's sharp effort.
Feb. 1 11:23 AM PT12:23 PM MT1:23 PM CT2:23 PM ET14:23 ET19:23 GMT3:23 12:23 PM MST2:23 PM EST2:53 PM VEN23:23 UAE1:23 PM CT-The Cubs have acquired Butler from the Rockies in exchange for minor league pitcher James Farris.
Analysis: Once a highly touted prospect, Butler went 6-16 with a 6.50 ERA over 36 appearances (28 starts) spread out across three seasons with the Rockies. The 26-year-old right-hander hopes to benefit from both a change of scenery and getting away from the treacherous conditions of Coors Field.

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.