MLB Player Stats - Robert Stephenson - Cincinnati

MLB Baseball
News | Scoreboard | Matchups | Stats | Standings | Teams | Players | Player News | Injuries | Transactions
#55
Robert Stephenson
ERA S K
4.68 1 86
Team: CincinnatiHt / Wt: 6-2 / 200 NFBC ADP: 600.04
Position: RPBorn: 2/24/1993 Birthplace: Martinez, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Reds (2011)


Latest News
Sep. 29 3:16 PM PT4:16 PM MT5:16 PM CT6:16 PM ET18:16 ET22:16 GMT6:16 3:16 PM MST5:16 PM EST5:46 PM VEN2:16 UAE (+1)5:16 PM CT-Robert Stephenson allowed two runs - one earned - on four hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Chicago Cubs 5-4 on Friday. Stephenson did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.68 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The right-hander went 5-2 with a 2.50 ERA over his final 10 appearances, including nine starts.
Sep. 28 5:26 PM PT6:26 PM MT7:26 PM CT8:26 PM ET20:26 ET0:26 GMT8:26 5:26 PM MST7:26 PM EST7:56 PM VEN4:26 UAE (+1)7:26 PM CT-Stephenson (5-6) starts Friday at the Chicago Cubs.
Analysis: Among four rookies in the rotation, he is 5-2 with a 2.87 ERA over his last seven starts.
Sep. 23 5:03 PM PT6:03 PM MT7:03 PM CT8:03 PM ET20:03 ET0:03 GMT8:03 5:03 PM MST7:03 PM EST7:33 PM VEN4:03 UAE (+1)7:03 PM CT-Robert Stephenson fell to 5-6, allowing four runs - two earned - on five hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Boston Red Sox 5-0 on Saturday. Stephenson struck out four, ending the game with a 4.86 ERA and 1.61 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Stephenson gave up two earned runs or less for the seventh time in his last eight starts, a span during which the right-hander is 5-2 with a 2.70 ERA.
Sep. 17 6:30 PM PT7:30 PM MT8:30 PM CT9:30 PM ET21:30 ET1:30 GMT9:30 6:30 PM MST8:30 PM EST9:00 PM VEN5:30 UAE (+1)8:30 PM CT-Robert Stephenson improved to 5-5, allowing one hit and three walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 5-2 on Sunday. Stephenson struck out eight, ending the game with a 5.01 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 13 9:29 AM PT10:29 AM MT11:29 AM CT12:29 PM ET12:29 ET16:29 GMT0:29 9:29 AM MST11:29 AM EST11:59 AM VEN20:29 UAE11:29 AM CT-Robert Stephenson fell to 4-5, allowing six runs - four earned - on five hits and three walks in 3.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 13-4 on Tuesday. Stephenson struck out five, ending the game with a 5.45 ERA and 1.73 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: It was the shortest start for the rookie, who was 4-0 with a 2.08 ERA in his previous six outings but couldn't throw strikes with any consistency.
Sep. 5 8:05 PM PT9:05 PM MT10:05 PM CT11:05 PM ET23:05 ET3:05 GMT11:05 8:05 PM MST10:05 PM EST10:35 PM VEN7:05 UAE (+1)10:05 PM CT-Robert Stephenson improved to 4-4, allowing one run on four hits and five walks in 6.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 9-3 on Tuesday. Stephenson struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.15 ERA and 1.69 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Stephenson has won his last four starts and is unbeaten in five straight while posting a 2.22 ERA.
Aug. 31 1:22 PM PT2:22 PM MT3:22 PM CT4:22 PM ET16:22 ET20:22 GMT4:22 1:22 PM MST3:22 PM EST3:52 PM VEN0:22 UAE (+1)3:22 PM CT-Robert Stephenson improved to 3-4, allowing two runs on five hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the New York Mets 7-2 on Thursday. Stephenson struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.52 ERA and 1.70 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Stephenson has been very effective in four starts this month, going 3-0 with a 2.42 ERA.
Aug. 26 9:02 PM PT10:02 PM MT11:02 PM CT12:02 AM ET0:02 ET4:02 GMT12:02 9:02 PM MST11:02 PM EST11:32 PM VEN8:02 UAE11:02 PM CT-Robert Stephenson improved to 2-4, allowing two runs on seven hits and four walks in 5.2 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 9-5 on Friday. Stephenson struck out a career-high 11, ending the game with a 5.81 ERA and 1.75 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Stephenson, making his fifth start and 19th overall appearance, fanned the first six batters for a modern Reds record. The major league record is eight by Houston's Jim Deshaies in 1986 and the Mets' Jacob deGrom in 2014. Stephenson has won his last two starts behind a 2.53 ERA.
Aug. 20 9:09 PM PT10:09 PM MT11:09 PM CT12:09 AM ET0:09 ET4:09 GMT12:09 9:09 PM MST11:09 PM EST11:39 PM VEN8:09 UAE11:09 PM CT-Stephenson improved to 1-4, allowing two runs - one earned - on three hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Atlanta Braves 11-8 on Saturday.
Analysis: Stephenson struck out three, ending the game with a 6.13 ERA and 1.72 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 14 10:04 PM PT11:04 PM MT12:04 AM CT1:04 AM ET1:04 ET5:04 GMT13:04 10:04 PM MST12:04 AM EST12:34 AM VEN9:04 UAE12:04 AM CT-Robert Stephenson walked one and didn't allow a hit in 2.0 scoreless innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 7-4 on Sunday. Stephenson struck out three, ending the game with a 6.64 ERA and 1.79 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Stephenson came off the DL prior to the game.
Aug. 6 10:10 AM PT11:10 AM MT12:10 PM CT1:10 PM ET13:10 ET17:10 GMT1:10 10:10 AM MST12:10 PM EST12:40 PM VEN21:10 UAE12:10 PM CT-Stephenson (right shoulder contusion) will likely throw one more bullpen session before Cincinnati considers slotting him back into its starting rotation, according to manager Bryan Price. Stephenson threw 25-pitch sessions Wednesday and Friday.
Analysis: Stephenson, who injured the shoulder making a diving catch Aug. 2, is 0-2 with a 5.28 ERA in three starts since joining the rotation.
Aug. 3 7:31 AM PT8:31 AM MT9:31 AM CT10:31 AM ET10:31 ET14:31 GMT22:31 7:31 AM MST9:31 AM EST10:01 AM VEN18:31 UAE9:31 AM CT-Robert Stephenson allowed one run on two hits and two walks in 5.2 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 5-2 on Wednesday. Stephenson struck out four, ending the game with a 6.98 ERA and 1.85 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Stephenson allowed 32 baserunners over his last 11 2/3 major league innings, yet somehow he managed to shut down a Pirates team that seems on the verge of self-combusting.
July 27 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)9:44 PM CT-Robert Stephenson fell to 0-4, allowing three runs on four hits and seven walks in 4.1 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Miami Marlins 4-1 on Thursday. Stephenson struck out two, ending the game with a 7.86 ERA and 2.04 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Stephenson has allowed 15 runs and 22 hits over 11 2/3 innings for a 10.80 ERA in his last three appearances, including two starts.
July 22 8:47 PM PT9:47 PM MT10:47 PM CT11:47 PM ET23:47 ET3:47 GMT11:47 8:47 PM MST10:47 PM EST11:17 PM VEN7:47 UAE (+1)10:47 PM CT-Robert Stephenson fell to 0-3, allowing five runs on eight hits and two walks in 5.1 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Miami Marlins 5-4 on Saturday. Stephenson struck out five, ending the game with an 8.10 ERA and 1.97 WHIP on the season.
May 30 9:38 AM PT10:38 AM MT11:38 AM CT12:38 PM ET12:38 ET16:38 GMT0:38 9:38 AM MST11:38 AM EST12:08 PM VEN20:38 UAE11:38 AM CT-Robert Stephenson allowed seven runs - six earned - on 10 hits and one walk in 2.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 17-2 on Monday. Stephenson did not strike out a batter, ending the game with an 8.03 ERA and 1.99 WHIP on the season.
May 21 4:20 PM PT5:20 PM MT6:20 PM CT7:20 PM ET19:20 ET23:20 GMT7:20 4:20 PM MST6:20 PM EST6:50 PM VEN3:20 UAE (+1)6:20 PM CT-Robert Stephenson allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.2 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Colorado Rockies 6-4 on Sunday. Stephenson struck out two, ending the game with a 6.35 ERA and 1.68 WHIP on the season.
May 18 3:28 PM PT4:28 PM MT5:28 PM CT6:28 PM ET18:28 ET22:28 GMT6:28 3:28 PM MST5:28 PM EST5:58 PM VEN2:28 UAE (+1)5:28 PM CT-Robert Stephenson walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Chicago Cubs 9-5 on Thursday. Stephenson struck out one, ending the game with a 6.86 ERA and 1.71 WHIP on the season.
May 17 8:54 AM PT9:54 AM MT10:54 AM CT11:54 AM ET11:54 ET15:54 GMT23:54 8:54 AM MST10:54 AM EST11:24 AM VEN19:54 UAE10:54 AM CT-Robert Stephenson allowed one run on one hit in 1.2 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Chicago Cubs 9-5 on Tuesday. Stephenson struck out one, ending the game with a 7.20 ERA and 1.75 WHIP on the season.
May 13 10:08 AM PT11:08 AM MT12:08 PM CT1:08 PM ET13:08 ET17:08 GMT1:08 10:08 AM MST12:08 PM EST12:38 PM VEN21:08 UAE12:08 PM CT-Robert Stephenson fell to 0-2, allowing one run on two hits in 2.1 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the San Francisco Giants 3-2 on Friday. Stephenson struck out two, ending the game with a 7.36 ERA and 1.85 WHIP on the season.
May 7 9:03 PM PT10:03 PM MT11:03 PM CT12:03 AM ET0:03 ET4:03 GMT12:03 9:03 PM MST11:03 PM EST11:33 PM VEN8:03 UAE11:03 PM CT-Robert Stephenson recorded his first save, allowing no runs on no hits and one walk in 3.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the San Francisco Giants 14-2 on Saturday. Stephenson struck out two, ending the game with a 7.88 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.
May 2 7:37 PM PT8:37 PM MT9:37 PM CT10:37 PM ET22:37 ET2:37 GMT10:37 7:37 PM MST9:37 PM EST10:07 PM VEN6:37 UAE (+1)9:37 PM CT-Robert Stephenson allowed four runs on four hits and two walks in 2.2 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 12-3 on Tuesday. Stephenson struck out two, ending the game with a 9.69 ERA and 2.38 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2016 Cin 2 3 0 - 0 8 8 0 37.0 41 26 25 9 19 1 31 1.62 6.08
2017 Cin 5 6 1 - 1 25 11 0 84.2 81 52 44 12 53 3 86 1.58 4.68
Career 7 9 1 - 1 33 19 0 121.2 122 78 69 21 72 4 117 1.59 5.10

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2016 Cin 8 10 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 Cin 26 23 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 15 0 0 .043 .043 .043
Career 34 33 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 20 0 0 .030 .030 .030


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 794 99 90 93.7 54.31
Curveball 145 85 74 79.6 9.92
Slider 291 92 82 85.6 19.9
Changeup 232 88 81 85.1 15.87

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.