MLB Player Stats - Wei-Yin Chen - Miami

MLB Baseball
News | Scoreboard | Matchups | Stats | Standings | Teams | Players | Player News | Injuries | Transactions
#54
Wei-Yin Chen
ERA W-L K
6.70 2-4 36
Team: MiamiHt / Wt: 6-0 / 193
Position: SPBorn: 7/21/1985 Birthplace: Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Bats/Throws: R/L Draft: Undrafted by Orioles (2012)


Latest News
June 22 8:38 PM PT9:38 PM MT10:38 PM CT11:38 PM ET23:38 ET3:38 GMT11:38 8:38 PM MST10:38 PM EST9:38 PM CST11:08 PM VEN7:38 UAE (+1)10:38 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen fell to 2-4, allowing seven runs on nine hits and one walk in 4.0 innings, as the Miami Marlins lost to the Colorado Rockies 11-3 on Friday. Chen struck out three, ending the game with a 6.70 ERA and 1.69 WHIP on the season.
June 16 3:53 PM PT4:53 PM MT5:53 PM CT6:53 PM ET18:53 ET22:53 GMT6:53 3:53 PM MST5:53 PM EST4:53 PM CST6:23 PM VEN2:53 UAE (+1)5:53 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen improved to 2-3, allowing three runs on eight hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Miami Marlins defeated the Baltimore Orioles 5-4 on Saturday. Chen struck out two, ending the game with a 5.91 ERA and 1.62 WHIP on the season.
June 11 7:18 PM PT8:18 PM MT9:18 PM CT10:18 PM ET22:18 ET2:18 GMT10:18 7:18 PM MST9:18 PM EST8:18 PM CST9:48 PM VEN6:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed four runs on six hits and four walks in 4.1 innings as the Miami Marlins defeated the San Francisco Giants 7-5 on Monday. Chen struck out five, ending the game with a 6.13 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
June 6 8:41 PM PT9:41 PM MT10:41 PM CT11:41 PM ET23:41 ET3:41 GMT11:41 8:41 PM MST10:41 PM EST9:41 PM CST11:11 PM VEN7:41 UAE (+1)10:41 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed two runs on six hits and two walks in 4.1 innings as the Miami Marlins defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 11-3 on Wednesday. Chen struck out two, ending the game with a 5.86 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
June 1 9:12 PM PT10:12 PM MT11:12 PM CT12:12 AM ET0:12 ET4:12 GMT12:12 9:12 PM MST11:12 PM EST10:12 PM CST11:42 PM VEN8:12 UAE11:12 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen fell to 1-3, allowing four runs on four hits and two walks in 1.2 innings, as the Miami Marlins lost to the San Diego Padres 8-3 on Thursday. Chen struck out four, ending the game with a 6.10 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
May 26 4:09 PM PT5:09 PM MT6:09 PM CT7:09 PM ET19:09 ET23:09 GMT7:09 4:09 PM MST6:09 PM EST5:09 PM CST6:39 PM VEN3:09 UAE (+1)6:09 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed one run on three hits and two walks in 7.1 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Washington Nationals 4-1 on Saturday. Chen struck out six.
Analysis: Chen's 7 1/3-inning outing was his longest in more than a year. The left-hander retired 13 in a row during one stretch and has lowered his ERA from 10.22 to 5.22 by allowing a total of three runs in his past three starts.
May 20 2:02 PM PT3:02 PM MT4:02 PM CT5:02 PM ET17:02 ET21:02 GMT5:02 2:02 PM MST4:02 PM EST3:02 PM CST4:32 PM VEN1:02 UAE (+1)4:02 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed two runs on five hits and one walk in 5.1 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Atlanta Braves 10-9 on Sunday. Chen struck out five, ending the game with a 6.55 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
May 15 7:09 PM PT8:09 PM MT9:09 PM CT10:09 PM ET22:09 ET2:09 GMT10:09 7:09 PM MST9:09 PM EST8:09 PM CST9:39 PM VEN6:09 UAE (+1)9:09 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed three hits and three walks without giving up a run in 4.1 innings as the Miami Marlins defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 4-2 on Tuesday. Chen struck out three, ending the game with a 7.56 ERA and 1.80 WHIP on the season.
May 9 2:39 PM PT3:39 PM MT4:39 PM CT5:39 PM ET17:39 ET21:39 GMT5:39 2:39 PM MST4:39 PM EST3:39 PM CST5:09 PM VEN1:39 UAE (+1)4:39 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen fell to 1-2, allowing nine runs on seven hits and two walks in 3.0 innings, as the Miami Marlins lost to the Chicago Cubs 13-4 on Wednesday. Chen struck out one, ending the game with a 10.22 ERA and 1.95 WHIP on the season.
May 4 7:09 PM PT8:09 PM MT9:09 PM CT10:09 PM ET22:09 ET2:09 GMT10:09 7:09 PM MST9:09 PM EST8:09 PM CST9:39 PM VEN6:09 UAE (+1)9:09 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen fell to 1-1, allowing four runs on five hits and four walks in 4.0 innings, as the Miami Marlins lost to the Cincinnati Reds 4-1 on Friday. Chen struck out two, ending the game with a 4.82 ERA and 1.61 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 7:07 PM PT8:07 PM MT9:07 PM CT10:07 PM ET22:07 ET2:07 GMT10:07 7:07 PM MST9:07 PM EST8:07 PM CST9:37 PM VEN6:07 UAE (+1)9:07 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen improved to 1-0, allowing one run on four hits and two walks in 5.1 innings, as the Miami Marlins defeated the Colorado Rockies 4-1 on Saturday. Chen struck out three, ending the game with a 1.69 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2012 Bal 12 11 0 - 0 32 32 0 192.2 186 97 86 29 57 0 154 1.26 4.02
2013 Bal 7 7 0 - 0 23 23 0 137.0 142 62 62 17 39 2 104 1.32 4.07
2014 Bal 16 6 0 - 0 31 31 0 185.2 193 77 73 23 35 2 136 1.23 3.54
2015 Bal 11 8 0 - 0 31 31 0 191.1 192 78 71 28 41 0 153 1.22 3.34
2016 Mia 5 5 0 - 0 22 22 0 123.1 134 69 68 22 24 0 100 1.28 4.96
2017 Mia 2 1 0 - 0 9 5 0 33.0 25 14 14 3 9 0 25 1.03 3.82
2018 Mia 2 4 0 - 0 11 11 0 49.2 60 37 37 10 24 4 36 1.69 6.70
Career 55 42 0 - 0 159 155 0 912.2 932 434 411 132 229 8 708 1.27 4.05

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 Bal 32 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 Bal 23 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Bal 31 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 Mia 22 44 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 18 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 Mia 9 8 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .125 .125 .125
2018 Mia 12 16 0 2 0 0 0 2 0 7 0 0 .125 .125 .125
Career 160 74 0 3 0 0 0 2 0 31 0 0 .041 .041 .041

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2012 Bal Total 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.1 8 2 1 0 1 0 3 1.42
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.1 8 2 1 0 1 0 3 1.42
2014 Bal Total 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 9.0 14 7 7 2 1 0 7 6.52
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 3.2 7 5 5 2 0 0 3 12.27
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.1 7 2 2 0 1 0 4 3.38
Career 1 1 0 - 0 3 3 0 15.1 22 9 8 2 2 0 10 4.70


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 519 93 88 88.3 59.72
Curveball 101 77 67 72 11.62
Slider 146 87 81 82.5 16.8
Changeup 103 87 77 80.5 11.85

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.