MLB Player Stats - Austin Romine - NY Yankees

MLB Baseball
News | Scoreboard | Matchups | Stats | Standings | Teams | Players | Player News | Injuries | Transactions
#27
Austin Romine
AVG HR RBI
.218 2 21
Team: NY YankeesHt / Wt: 6-1 / 220 NFBC ADP: 674.35
Position: CBorn: 11/22/1988 Birthplace: Lake Forest, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 2nd Round by Yankees (2007)


Latest News
Oct. 17 11:09 AM PT12:09 PM MT1:09 PM CT2:09 PM ET14:09 ET18:09 GMT2:09 11:09 AM MST1:09 PM EST1:39 PM VEN22:09 UAE1:09 PM CT-Romine will catch right-hander Sonny Gray for the New York Yankees against Houston in Game 4 of the AL Championship Series, with regular backstop Gary Sanchez moving to designated hitter.
Analysis: Manager Joe Girardi says Romine and Gray have built a strong rapport since Gray was acquired from Oakland in July. Gray had a 1.45 ERA in three games pitching to Romine, compared to a 4.63 ERA in eight appearances with Sanchez. Romine is New York's best receiver. Sanchez tied for the major league lead with 16 passed balls in the regular season, and Gray's big curveball can be difficult to block.
Oct. 2 7:16 AM PT8:16 AM MT9:16 AM CT10:16 AM ET10:16 ET14:16 GMT22:16 7:16 AM MST9:16 AM EST9:46 AM VEN18:16 UAE9:16 AM CT-Austin Romine went 0 for 3 Sunday as the New York Yankees fell to the Toronto Blue Jays 2-1. He ended the game with a .218 batting average.
Sep. 29 1:47 PM PT2:47 PM MT3:47 PM CT4:47 PM ET16:47 ET20:47 GMT4:47 1:47 PM MST3:47 PM EST4:17 PM VEN0:47 UAE (+1)3:47 PM CT-Austin Romine went 1 for 3 Friday as the New York Yankees beat the Toronto Blue Jays 4-0. He ended the game with a .221 batting average.
Sep. 24 6:52 PM PT7:52 PM MT8:52 PM CT9:52 PM ET21:52 ET1:52 GMT9:52 6:52 PM MST8:52 PM EST9:22 PM VEN5:52 UAE (+1)8:52 PM CT-Austin Romine went 1 for 4 with a double Sunday as the New York Yankees fell to the Toronto Blue Jays 9-5. He ended the game with a .220 batting average.
Sep. 20 2:30 PM PT3:30 PM MT4:30 PM CT5:30 PM ET17:30 ET21:30 GMT5:30 2:30 PM MST4:30 PM EST5:00 PM VEN1:30 UAE (+1)4:30 PM CT-Austin Romine went 0 for 1 Wednesday as the New York Yankees topped the Minnesota Twins 11-3. He ended the game with a .219 batting average.
Sep. 16 5:31 PM PT6:31 PM MT7:31 PM CT8:31 PM ET20:31 ET0:31 GMT8:31 5:31 PM MST7:31 PM EST8:01 PM VEN4:31 UAE (+1)7:31 PM CT-Austin Romine went 0 for 4 Saturday as the New York Yankees beat the Baltimore Orioles 9-3. He ended the game with a .220 batting average.
Sep. 15 8:14 AM PT9:14 AM MT10:14 AM CT11:14 AM ET11:14 ET15:14 GMT23:14 8:14 AM MST10:14 AM EST10:44 AM VEN19:14 UAE10:14 AM CT-Austin Romine went 0 for 1 Thursday as the New York Yankees topped the Baltimore Orioles 13-5. He ended the game with a .224 batting average.
Sep. 13 2:34 PM PT3:34 PM MT4:34 PM CT5:34 PM ET17:34 ET21:34 GMT5:34 2:34 PM MST4:34 PM EST5:04 PM VEN1:34 UAE (+1)4:34 PM CT-Austin Romine went 0 for 3 Wednesday as the New York Yankees beat the Tampa Bay Rays 3-2. He ended the game with a .225 batting average.
Sep. 11 8:38 AM PT9:38 AM MT10:38 AM CT11:38 AM ET11:38 ET15:38 GMT23:38 8:38 AM MST10:38 AM EST11:08 AM VEN19:38 UAE10:38 AM CT-Austin Romine went 3 for 5 with a double Sunday as the New York Yankees beat the Texas Rangers 16-7. Romine scored three times. He ended the game with a .229 batting average.
Sep. 7 2:44 PM PT3:44 PM MT4:44 PM CT5:44 PM ET17:44 ET21:44 GMT5:44 2:44 PM MST4:44 PM EST5:14 PM VEN1:44 UAE (+1)4:44 PM CT-Austin Romine went 2 for 4 Thursday as the New York Yankees topped the Baltimore Orioles 9-1. He ended the game with a .220 batting average.
Sep. 6 8:02 AM PT9:02 AM MT10:02 AM CT11:02 AM ET11:02 ET15:02 GMT23:02 8:02 AM MST10:02 AM EST10:32 AM VEN19:02 UAE10:02 AM CT-Austin Romine went 1 for 4 Tuesday as the New York Yankees lost to the Baltimore Orioles 7-6. Romine scored once. He ended the game with a .214 batting average.
Sep. 4 3:34 PM PT4:34 PM MT5:34 PM CT6:34 PM ET18:34 ET22:34 GMT6:34 3:34 PM MST5:34 PM EST6:04 PM VEN2:34 UAE (+1)5:34 PM CT-Austin Romine went 0 for 2 Monday as the New York Yankees beat the Baltimore Orioles 7-4. He ended the game with a .213 batting average.
Sep. 4 9:20 AM PT10:20 AM MT11:20 AM CT12:20 PM ET12:20 ET16:20 GMT0:20 9:20 AM MST11:20 AM EST11:50 AM VEN20:20 UAE11:20 AM CT-Austin Romine went 0 for 1 Sunday as the New York Yankees beat the Boston Red Sox 9-2. He ended the game with a .215 batting average.
Aug. 31 11:35 AM PT12:35 PM MT1:35 PM CT2:35 PM ET14:35 ET18:35 GMT2:35 11:35 AM MST1:35 PM EST2:05 PM VEN22:35 UAE1:35 PM CT-Austin Romine went 0 for 4 Wednesday as the New York Yankees lost to the Cleveland Indians 9-4. He ended the game with a .216 batting average.
Aug. 27 2:28 PM PT3:28 PM MT4:28 PM CT5:28 PM ET17:28 ET21:28 GMT5:28 2:28 PM MST4:28 PM EST4:58 PM VEN1:28 UAE (+1)4:28 PM CT-Austin Romine went 0 for 1 Sunday as the New York Yankees topped the Seattle Mariners 10-1. He ended the game with a .221 batting average.
Aug. 26 2:32 PM PT3:32 PM MT4:32 PM CT5:32 PM ET17:32 ET21:32 GMT5:32 2:32 PM MST4:32 PM EST5:02 PM VEN1:32 UAE (+1)4:32 PM CT-Austin Romine went 1 for 4 Saturday as the New York Yankees beat the Seattle Mariners 6-3. Romine scored once. He ended the game with a .222 batting average.
Aug. 25 2:12 PM PT3:12 PM MT4:12 PM CT5:12 PM ET17:12 ET21:12 GMT5:12 2:12 PM MST4:12 PM EST4:42 PM VEN1:12 UAE (+1)4:12 PM CT-Romine, one of eight ejected during Thursday's nasty contest against the Tigers that featured three bench-clearing incidents, received a two-game suspension for his actions.
Analysis: Gary Sanchez's backup is hitting just .152 over his last 18 games.
Aug. 24 3:43 PM PT4:43 PM MT5:43 PM CT6:43 PM ET18:43 ET22:43 GMT6:43 3:43 PM MST5:43 PM EST6:13 PM VEN2:43 UAE (+1)5:43 PM CT-Romine went 0 for 2 Thursday as the New York Yankees fell to the Detroit Tigers 10-6. He ended the game with a .222 batting average.
Analysis: He was one of eight ejected in a game that featured three bench-clearing incidents.
Aug. 19 9:28 PM PT10:28 PM MT11:28 PM CT12:28 AM ET0:28 ET4:28 GMT12:28 9:28 PM MST11:28 PM EST11:58 PM VEN8:28 UAE11:28 PM CT-Austin Romine went 1 for 5 Friday as the New York Yankees fell to the Boston Red Sox 9-6. He ended the game with a .220 batting average.
Aug. 14 8:13 AM PT9:13 AM MT10:13 AM CT11:13 AM ET11:13 ET15:13 GMT23:13 8:13 AM MST10:13 AM EST10:43 AM VEN19:13 UAE10:13 AM CT-Austin Romine went 1 for 3 with a triple and an RBI Sunday as the New York Yankees lost to the Boston Red Sox 3-2. He ended the game with a .220 batting average.
Aug. 3 7:57 PM PT8:57 PM MT9:57 PM CT10:57 PM ET22:57 ET2:57 GMT10:57 7:57 PM MST9:57 PM EST10:27 PM VEN6:57 UAE (+1)9:57 PM CT-Austin Romine went 0 for 3 Thursday as the New York Yankees fell to the Cleveland Indians 5-1. He ended the game with a .230 batting average.
July 30 3:17 PM PT4:17 PM MT5:17 PM CT6:17 PM ET18:17 ET22:17 GMT6:17 3:17 PM MST5:17 PM EST5:47 PM VEN2:17 UAE (+1)5:17 PM CT-Romine went 0 for 2 Sunday as the New York Yankees lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 5-3. He ended the game with a .235 batting average.
Analysis: Romine was hit on the throat by a foul off the bat of Adeiny Hechavarria, hit on the back of his helmet by Steven Sousa Jr.'s backswing and then on left hand by a Cishek pitch in sixth. New York said X-rays were negative and Romine sustained a bruise.
July 25 6:59 PM PT7:59 PM MT8:59 PM CT9:59 PM ET21:59 ET1:59 GMT9:59 6:59 PM MST8:59 PM EST9:29 PM VEN5:59 UAE (+1)8:59 PM CT-Austin Romine went 1 for 3 with a double and an RBI Tuesday as the New York Yankees beat the Cincinnati Reds 4-2. He ended the game with a .238 batting average.
July 19 2:22 PM PT3:22 PM MT4:22 PM CT5:22 PM ET17:22 ET21:22 GMT5:22 2:22 PM MST4:22 PM EST4:52 PM VEN1:22 UAE (+1)4:22 PM CT-Austin Romine went 0 for 1 Wednesday as the New York Yankees lost to the Minnesota Twins 6-1. He ended the game with a .236 batting average.
July 17 8:33 PM PT9:33 PM MT10:33 PM CT11:33 PM ET23:33 ET3:33 GMT11:33 8:33 PM MST10:33 PM EST11:03 PM VEN7:33 UAE (+1)10:33 PM CT-Austin Romine went 1 for 3 with a double and an RBI Monday as the New York Yankees fell to the Minnesota Twins 4-2. He ended the game with a .237 batting average.
July 15 7:45 PM PT8:45 PM MT9:45 PM CT10:45 PM ET22:45 ET2:45 GMT10:45 7:45 PM MST9:45 PM EST10:15 PM VEN6:45 UAE (+1)9:45 PM CT-Austin Romine went 1 for 2 with an RBI Saturday as the New York Yankees beat the Boston Red Sox 4-1. He ended the game with a .235 batting average.
July 8 1:36 PM PT2:36 PM MT3:36 PM CT4:36 PM ET16:36 ET20:36 GMT4:36 1:36 PM MST3:36 PM EST4:06 PM VEN0:36 UAE (+1)3:36 PM CT-Austin Romine went 0 for 2 Saturday as the New York Yankees topped the Milwaukee Brewers 5-3. He ended the game with a .231 batting average.
July 8 9:47 PM PT10:47 PM MT11:47 PM CT12:47 AM ET0:47 ET4:47 GMT12:47 9:47 PM MST11:47 PM EST12:17 AM VEN8:47 UAE11:47 PM CT-Austin Romine went 0 for 4 Friday as the New York Yankees lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 9-4. He ended the game with a .234 batting average.
July 5 2:49 PM PT3:49 PM MT4:49 PM CT5:49 PM ET17:49 ET21:49 GMT5:49 2:49 PM MST4:49 PM EST5:19 PM VEN1:49 UAE (+1)4:49 PM CT-Austin Romine went 0 for 2 Wednesday as the New York Yankees fell to the Toronto Blue Jays 7-6. Romine scored once. He ended the game with a .241 batting average.
July 2 10:04 AM PT11:04 AM MT12:04 PM CT1:04 PM ET13:04 ET17:04 GMT1:04 10:04 AM MST12:04 PM EST12:34 PM VEN21:04 UAE12:04 PM CT-Austin Romine went 1 for 4 Saturday as the New York Yankees lost to the Houston Astros 7-6. He ended the game with a .245 batting average.
July 1 9:05 PM PT10:05 PM MT11:05 PM CT12:05 AM ET0:05 ET4:05 GMT12:05 9:05 PM MST11:05 PM EST11:35 PM VEN8:05 UAE11:05 PM CT-Austin Romine went 2 for 4 Friday as the New York Yankees beat the Houston Astros 13-4. Romine scored twice. He ended the game with a .244 batting average.
June 30 9:11 AM PT10:11 AM MT11:11 AM CT12:11 PM ET12:11 ET16:11 GMT0:11 9:11 AM MST11:11 AM EST11:41 AM VEN20:11 UAE11:11 AM CT-Austin Romine went 1 for 4 with an RBI Thursday as the New York Yankees lost to the Chicago White Sox 4-3. He ended the game with a .237 batting average.
June 29 9:20 AM PT10:20 AM MT11:20 AM CT12:20 PM ET12:20 ET16:20 GMT0:20 9:20 AM MST11:20 AM EST11:50 AM VEN20:20 UAE11:20 AM CT-Austin Romine went 1 for 2 with a double Wednesday as the New York Yankees topped the Chicago White Sox 12-3. Romine scored twice. He ended the game with a .236 batting average.
June 28 8:59 AM PT9:59 AM MT10:59 AM CT11:59 AM ET11:59 ET15:59 GMT23:59 8:59 AM MST10:59 AM EST11:29 AM VEN19:59 UAE10:59 AM CT-Austin Romine went 1 for 4 Tuesday as the New York Yankees fell to the Chicago White Sox 4-3. He ended the game with a .232 batting average.
June 27 8:57 AM PT9:57 AM MT10:57 AM CT11:57 AM ET11:57 ET15:57 GMT23:57 8:57 AM MST10:57 AM EST11:27 AM VEN19:57 UAE10:57 AM CT-Austin Romine went 0 for 1 with an RBI Monday as the New York Yankees topped the Chicago White Sox 6-5. He ended the game with a .231 batting average.
June 24 1:17 PM PT2:17 PM MT3:17 PM CT4:17 PM ET16:17 ET20:17 GMT4:17 1:17 PM MST3:17 PM EST3:47 PM VEN0:17 UAE (+1)3:17 PM CT-Austin Romine went 1 for 3 Saturday as the New York Yankees fell to the Texas Rangers 8-1. He ended the game with a .239 batting average.
June 22 8:29 AM PT9:29 AM MT10:29 AM CT11:29 AM ET11:29 ET15:29 GMT23:29 8:29 AM MST10:29 AM EST10:59 AM VEN19:29 UAE10:29 AM CT-Austin Romine went 3 for 4 with a double and two RBIs Wednesday as the New York Yankees beat the Los Angeles Angels 8-4. Romine scored once. He ended the game with a .237 batting average.
Analysis: Prior to this, Romine had been 6 for 53 with 17 strikeouts since May 2.
June 20 8:55 PM PT9:55 PM MT10:55 PM CT11:55 PM ET23:55 ET3:55 GMT11:55 8:55 PM MST10:55 PM EST11:25 PM VEN7:55 UAE (+1)10:55 PM CT-Austin Romine went 0 for 1 Tuesday as the New York Yankees fell to the Los Angeles Angels 8-3. He ended the game with a .218 batting average.
June 18 7:56 AM PT8:56 AM MT9:56 AM CT10:56 AM ET10:56 ET14:56 GMT22:56 7:56 AM MST9:56 AM EST10:26 AM VEN18:56 UAE9:56 AM CT-Austin Romine went 1 for 4 with an RBI Saturday as the New York Yankees fell to the Oakland Athletics 5-2. He ended the game with a .220 batting average.
June 17 10:26 AM PT11:26 AM MT12:26 PM CT1:26 PM ET13:26 ET17:26 GMT1:26 10:26 AM MST12:26 PM EST12:56 PM VEN21:26 UAE12:26 PM CT-Austin Romine went 0 for 4 Friday as the New York Yankees fell to the Oakland Athletics 7-6. He ended the game with a .219 batting average.
June 16 11:47 AM PT12:47 PM MT1:47 PM CT2:47 PM ET14:47 ET18:47 GMT2:47 11:47 AM MST1:47 PM EST2:17 PM VEN22:47 UAE1:47 PM CT-Austin Romine went 1 for 5 Thursday as the New York Yankees fell to the Oakland Athletics 8-7. He ended the game with a .228 batting average.
June 13 8:28 AM PT9:28 AM MT10:28 AM CT11:28 AM ET11:28 ET15:28 GMT23:28 8:28 AM MST10:28 AM EST10:58 AM VEN19:28 UAE10:28 AM CT-Austin Romine went 1 for 5 Monday as the New York Yankees topped the Los Angeles Angels 5-3. He ended the game with a .229 batting average.
June 3 2:37 PM PT3:37 PM MT4:37 PM CT5:37 PM ET17:37 ET21:37 GMT5:37 2:37 PM MST4:37 PM EST5:07 PM VEN1:37 UAE (+1)4:37 PM CT-Austin Romine went 0 for 4 Saturday as the New York Yankees beat the Toronto Blue Jays 7-0. He ended the game with a .230 batting average.
May 26 7:31 PM PT8:31 PM MT9:31 PM CT10:31 PM ET22:31 ET2:31 GMT10:31 7:31 PM MST9:31 PM EST10:01 PM VEN6:31 UAE (+1)9:31 PM CT-Austin Romine went 1 for 3 with a double Friday as the New York Yankees lost to the Oakland Athletics 4-1. He ended the game with a .241 batting average.
May 23 7:13 PM PT8:13 PM MT9:13 PM CT10:13 PM ET22:13 ET2:13 GMT10:13 7:13 PM MST9:13 PM EST9:43 PM VEN6:13 UAE (+1)9:13 PM CT-Austin Romine went 0 for 3 Tuesday as the New York Yankees fell to the Kansas City Royals 6-2. He ended the game with a .237 batting average.
May 19 7:40 PM PT8:40 PM MT9:40 PM CT10:40 PM ET22:40 ET2:40 GMT10:40 7:40 PM MST9:40 PM EST10:10 PM VEN6:40 UAE (+1)9:40 PM CT-Austin Romine went 0 for 4 Friday as the New York Yankees lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 5-4. He ended the game with a .247 batting average.
May 14 3:12 PM PT4:12 PM MT5:12 PM CT6:12 PM ET18:12 ET22:12 GMT6:12 3:12 PM MST5:12 PM EST5:42 PM VEN2:12 UAE (+1)5:12 PM CT-Austin Romine went 0 for 4 Sunday as the New York Yankees beat the Houston Astros 11-6. He ended the game with a .261 batting average.
May 8 9:01 AM PT10:01 AM MT11:01 AM CT12:01 PM ET12:01 ET16:01 GMT0:01 9:01 AM MST11:01 AM EST11:31 AM VEN20:01 UAE11:01 AM CT-Austin Romine went 0 for 7 Sunday as the New York Yankees topped the Chicago Cubs 5-4. He ended the game with a .281 batting average.
May 3 10:13 PM PT11:13 PM MT12:13 AM CT1:13 AM ET1:13 ET5:13 GMT13:13 10:13 PM MST12:13 AM EST12:43 AM VEN9:13 UAE12:13 AM CT-Austin Romine went 1 for 3 Tuesday as the New York Yankees beat the Toronto Blue Jays 11-5. He ended the game with a .316 batting average.
May 1 8:51 PM PT9:51 PM MT10:51 PM CT11:51 PM ET23:51 ET3:51 GMT11:51 8:51 PM MST10:51 PM EST11:21 PM VEN7:51 UAE (+1)10:51 PM CT-Austin Romine went 1 for 3 Monday as the New York Yankees fell to the Toronto Blue Jays 7-1. He ended the game with a .315 batting average.
Apr. 30 4:42 PM PT5:42 PM MT6:42 PM CT7:42 PM ET19:42 ET23:42 GMT7:42 4:42 PM MST6:42 PM EST7:12 PM VEN3:42 UAE (+1)6:42 PM CT-Austin Romine went 1 for 1 Sunday as the New York Yankees fell to the Baltimore Orioles 7-4. He ended the game with a .314 batting average.
Apr. 29 2:57 PM PT3:57 PM MT4:57 PM CT5:57 PM ET17:57 ET21:57 GMT5:57 2:57 PM MST4:57 PM EST5:27 PM VEN1:57 UAE (+1)4:57 PM CT-Austin Romine went 2 for 3 with a home run and five RBIs Saturday as the New York Yankees beat the Baltimore Orioles 12-4. The homer was his second of the season. He ended the game with a .300 batting average.
Analysis: Romine has done a nice job since the Yankees lost starting catcher Gary Sanchez on April 8. He's batting .300 (15 for 50) with 10 RBIs in 16 games since replacing Sanchez that day.
Apr. 29 9:13 PM PT10:13 PM MT11:13 PM CT12:13 AM ET0:13 ET4:13 GMT12:13 9:13 PM MST11:13 PM EST11:43 PM VEN8:13 UAE11:13 PM CT-Austin Romine went 1 for 3 Friday as the New York Yankees topped the Baltimore Orioles 14-11 in 10 innings. Romine scored once. He ended the game with a .277 batting average.
Apr. 28 6:45 AM PT7:45 AM MT8:45 AM CT9:45 AM ET9:45 ET13:45 GMT21:45 6:45 AM MST8:45 AM EST9:15 AM VEN17:45 UAE8:45 AM CT-Austin Romine went 0 for 3 Thursday as the New York Yankees topped the Boston Red Sox 3-0. He ended the game with a .273 batting average.
Apr. 15 8:22 AM PT9:22 AM MT10:22 AM CT11:22 AM ET11:22 ET15:22 GMT23:22 8:22 AM MST10:22 AM EST10:52 AM VEN19:22 UAE10:22 AM CT-Romine homered in his first at-bat and finished 2 for 4 to help the Yankees defeat St. Louis on Friday.
Analysis: The 28-year-old has been doing a fine job filling in for the injured Gary Sanchez, going 5 for 16 at the plate so far. Romine has produced multiple hits in back-to-back games, though keep in mind he's a career .226 hitter at the major league level with only modest power.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2011 NYY 9 19 2 3 0 0 0 0 1 5 0 0 .158 .200 .158
2013 NYY 60 135 15 28 9 0 1 10 8 37 1 0 .207 .255 .296
2014 NYY 7 13 2 3 1 0 0 1 0 4 0 0 .231 .231 .308
2015 NYY 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 NYY 62 165 17 40 11 0 4 26 7 31 1 0 .242 .269 .382
2017 NYY 80 229 19 50 9 1 2 21 16 57 0 0 .218 .272 .293
Career 219 563 55 124 30 1 7 58 32 134 2 0 .220 .263 .314

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2017 NYY Total 2 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 2 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 2 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.