MLB Player Stats - Carlos Carrasco - Cleveland

MLB Baseball
News | Scoreboard | Matchups | Stats | Standings | Teams | Players | Player News | Injuries | Transactions
#59
Carlos Carrasco
ERA W-L K
2.99 8-3 89
Team: ClevelandHt / Wt: 6-4 / 224 NFBC ADP: 63.55
Position: SPBorn: 3/21/1987 Birthplace: Barquisimeto, Venezuela
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Phillies (2003)


Latest News
June 22 8:22 AM PT9:22 AM MT10:22 AM CT11:22 AM ET11:22 ET15:22 GMT23:22 8:22 AM MST10:22 AM EST10:52 AM VEN19:22 UAE10:22 AM CT-Carlos Carrasco improved to 8-3, allowing seven hits over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Baltimore Orioles 5-1 on Wednesday. Carrasco struck out 10, ending the game with a 2.99 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Carrasco lowered his road ERA to 2.54, and he's only allowed two homers in 49 2/3 innings away from Progressive Field.
June 16 8:50 PM PT9:50 PM MT10:50 PM CT11:50 PM ET23:50 ET3:50 GMT11:50 8:50 PM MST10:50 PM EST11:20 PM VEN7:50 UAE (+1)10:50 PM CT-Carlos Carrasco improved to 7-3, allowing one run on four hits and three walks in 6.1 innings, as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Minnesota Twins 8-1 on Friday. Carrasco struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.21 ERA and 1.01 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Carrasco pitched one-hit ball into the sixth inning and has now won back-to-back starts behind a 2.31 ERA.
June 11 2:59 PM PT3:59 PM MT4:59 PM CT5:59 PM ET17:59 ET21:59 GMT5:59 2:59 PM MST4:59 PM EST5:29 PM VEN1:59 UAE (+1)4:59 PM CT-Carlos Carrasco improved to 6-3, allowing two runs on seven hits and one walk in 5.1 innings, as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Chicago White Sox 4-2 on Sunday. Carrasco struck out four, ending the game with a 3.36 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
June 3 3:12 PM PT4:12 PM MT5:12 PM CT6:12 PM ET18:12 ET22:12 GMT6:12 3:12 PM MST5:12 PM EST5:42 PM VEN2:12 UAE (+1)5:12 PM CT-Carlos Carrasco fell to 5-3, allowing five runs on five hits and two walks in 4.1 innings, as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Kansas City Royals 12-5 on Saturday. Carrasco struck out three, ending the game with a 3.36 ERA and 0.96 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: After posting a 1.86 ERA in his first seven starts, Carrasco has a 6.75 ERA in his past four.
May 29 5:01 PM PT6:01 PM MT7:01 PM CT8:01 PM ET20:01 ET0:01 GMT8:01 5:01 PM MST7:01 PM EST7:31 PM VEN4:01 UAE (+1)7:01 PM CT-Carlos Carrasco improved to 5-2, allowing two runs on four hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Oakland Athletics 5-3 on Monday. Carrasco struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.89 ERA and 0.92 WHIP on the season.
May 23 8:26 PM PT9:26 PM MT10:26 PM CT11:26 PM ET23:26 ET3:26 GMT11:26 8:26 PM MST10:26 PM EST10:56 PM VEN7:26 UAE (+1)10:26 PM CT-Carlos Carrasco allowed four runs on five hits and four walks in 6.1 innings as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Cincinnati Reds 8-7 on Tuesday. Carrasco struck out six, ending the game with a 2.93 ERA and 0.94 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Carrasco was in line to move to 5-0 on the road this season, but Cleveland's bullpen had an uncharacteristic meltdown in the seventh. Carrasco made his first start since leaving against the Rays on May 15 due to left pectoral tightness.
May 15 5:15 PM PT6:15 PM MT7:15 PM CT8:15 PM ET20:15 ET0:15 GMT8:15 5:15 PM MST7:15 PM EST7:45 PM VEN4:15 UAE (+1)7:15 PM CT-Carrasco left Monday night's game against the Rays due to left pectoral tightness. He will resume his between starts routine in a couple of days and is scheduled to start again May 23 against Cincinnati.
Analysis: In 3 2/3 innings, Carrasco gave up five runs and six hits with six strikeouts and three walks. The right-hander entered with a 4-2 record and 1.86 ERA in seven starts.
May 9 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)9:23 PM CT-Carlos Carrasco improved to 4-2, allowing three hits over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 6-0 on Tuesday. Carrasco struck out seven, ending the game with a 1.86 ERA and 0.77 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The right-hander is a good play when he starts on the road, as he improved to 4-0 with a 1.35 ERA in four outings away from Cleveland. His next start is scheduled for Monday against Tampa Bay at home, where he is 0-2 in three outings despite a 2.49 ERA.
May 4 9:50 PM PT10:50 PM MT11:50 PM CT12:50 AM ET0:50 ET4:50 GMT12:50 9:50 PM MST11:50 PM EST12:20 AM VEN8:50 UAE11:50 PM CT-Carlos Carrasco improved to 3-2, allowing two runs on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Detroit Tigers 3-2 on Wednesday. Carrasco struck out five, ending the game with a 2.18 ERA and 0.82 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Carrasco's next outing is scheduled for Tuesday in Toronto. In his only matchup with the Blue Jays last season on June 30, the right-hander struck out 14 while allowing a run and three hits in a 4-1 win.
Apr. 29 9:43 PM PT10:43 PM MT11:43 PM CT12:43 AM ET0:43 ET4:43 GMT12:43 9:43 PM MST11:43 PM EST12:13 AM VEN8:43 UAE11:43 PM CT-Carlos Carrasco fell to 2-2, allowing three runs on six hits in 8.0 innings, as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Seattle Mariners 3-1 on Friday. Carrasco struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.04 ERA and 0.79 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Carrasco has recorded four straight quality starts, and has 15 strikeouts to just one walk over 16 innings in his last two outings. He is next scheduled to take the ball Wednesday at Detroit. He faced the Tigers on April 16, yielding two runs and four hits in 6 2/3 innings of a 4-1 loss.
Apr. 22 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)10:07 PM CT-Carrasco was outstanding again Saturday, tossing three-hit ball over eight scoreless innings with one walk and eight strikeouts in a win over the White Sox.
Analysis: Carrasco has allowed just five runs and 15 hits over 27 1/3 innings in four starts. He's also walked just seven while striking out 27.
Apr. 16 6:33 PM PT7:33 PM MT8:33 PM CT9:33 PM ET21:33 ET1:33 GMT9:33 6:33 PM MST8:33 PM EST9:03 PM VEN5:33 UAE (+1)8:33 PM CT-Carrasco walked five but held the Tigers to two runs on four hits through 6 2/3 innings in a tough-luck loss on Sunday.
Analysis: Carrasco has now allowed two runs or less in each of his three starts and has 19 strikeouts in 19 1/3 innings after recording five on Sunday. The right-hander does draw a tough assignment against the White Sox next time out, as he's 2-4 with a troubling 6.50 ERA in eight career appearances at Guaranteed Rate Field.
Apr. 11 5:26 PM PT6:26 PM MT7:26 PM CT8:26 PM ET20:26 ET0:26 GMT8:26 5:26 PM MST7:26 PM EST7:56 PM VEN4:26 UAE (+1)7:26 PM CT-Carrasco, who also missed the Indians' postseason run with a broken right hand, allowed just one run and four hits in seven innings. It was his first start at home since Sept. 17, when he was struck by a line drive hit by Detroit's Ian Kinsler.
Analysis: Carrasco has allowed three runs over 12 2/3 innings with 14 strikeouts in his first two starts.
Apr. 5 9:42 AM PT10:42 AM MT11:42 AM CT12:42 PM ET12:42 ET16:42 GMT0:42 9:42 AM MST11:42 AM EST12:12 PM VEN20:42 UAE11:42 AM CT-Carrasco, allowed two runs, stuck out seven and pitched into the sixth inning in his first start since taking a liner off his right hand last September, and the Indians held on for a 4-3 victory over the Texas Rangers on Tuesday night.
Analysis: Carrasco appears over the broken bone in his hand that forced him to miss the playoffs with the AL champion Cleveland Indians.
Mar. 24 7:19 PM PT8:19 PM MT9:19 PM CT10:19 PM ET22:19 ET2:19 GMT10:19 7:19 PM MST9:19 PM EST9:49 PM VEN6:19 UAE (+1)8:19 PM CT-Carrasco threw three scoreless innings Friday against the Cubs in his first spring training outing since March 13.
Analysis: The right-hander had a start skipped after he experienced some elbow discomfort following a horrendous appearance against the White Sox, in which he was tagged for eight runs and eight hits - including three homers - in 1 2/3 innings. Carrasco appears close to being back on track to begin the season in the rotation, though he may be pushed to the back end.
Mar. 14 5:15 PM PT6:15 PM MT7:15 PM CT8:15 PM ET20:15 ET0:15 GMT8:15 5:15 PM MST7:15 PM EST7:45 PM VEN4:15 UAE (+1)6:15 PM CT-Carrasco is dealing with some soreness in his right elbow and will have his next Cactus League start skipped, though an MRI revealed no structural damage.
Analysis: The injury helps explain the right-hander's awful outing on Monday, when he was rocked for eight runs and eight hits in 1 2/3 innings against the White Sox. Carrasco still has enough time to be ready for the start of the season, assuming the discomfort doesn't linger.
Mar. 13 5:30 PM PT6:30 PM MT7:30 PM CT8:30 PM ET20:30 ET0:30 GMT8:30 5:30 PM MST7:30 PM EST8:00 PM VEN4:30 UAE (+1)6:30 PM CT-Carrasco had a rough outing Monday, allowing eight runs and eight hits in 1 2/3 innings against the White Sox.
Analysis: While it's apparent Carrasco still needs to fine-tune some things after missing all of Cleveland's run to the 2016 World Series with a broken right hand, there's no real cause for alarm here. The right-hander still has three weeks to get himself right for the regular season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2009 Cle 0 4 0 - 0 5 5 0 22.1 40 23 22 6 11 1 11 2.28 8.87
2010 Cle 2 2 0 - 0 7 7 1 44.2 47 20 19 6 14 1 38 1.37 3.83
2011 Cle 8 9 0 - 0 21 21 1 124.2 130 68 64 15 40 3 85 1.36 4.62
2013 Cle 1 4 0 - 0 15 7 0 46.2 64 36 35 4 18 2 30 1.76 6.75
2014 Cle 8 7 1 - 1 40 14 1 134.0 103 40 38 7 29 1 140 0.99 2.55
2015 Cle 14 12 0 - 0 30 30 3 183.2 154 75 74 18 43 2 216 1.07 3.63
2016 Cle 11 8 0 - 0 25 25 1 146.1 134 64 54 21 34 2 150 1.15 3.32
2017 Cle 8 3 0 - 0 14 14 0 87.1 67 29 29 9 22 0 89 1.02 2.99
Career 52 49 1 - 1 157 123 7 789.2 739 355 335 86 211 12 759 1.20 3.82

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2011 Cle 21 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Cle 40 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 Cle 30 1 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1.000 1.000 1.000
2017 Cle 14 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 157 11 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .091 .091 .091


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 680 98 89 93.9 51.32
Curveball 202 88 78 83.1 15.25
Slider 218 92 82 86.2 16.45
Changeup 225 92 83 88.5 16.98

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.