MLB Player Stats - Phil Hughes - San Diego

MLB Baseball
News | Scoreboard | Matchups | Stats | Standings | Teams | Players | Player News | Injuries | Transactions
#59
Phil Hughes
ERA W-L K
6.34 0-0 32
Team: San DiegoHt / Wt: 6-5 / 238
Position: SPBorn: 6/24/1986 Birthplace: Mission Viejo, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Yankees (2004)


Latest News
Aug. 8 8:08 PM PT9:08 PM MT10:08 PM CT11:08 PM ET23:08 ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST10:08 PM EST9:08 PM CST10:38 PM VEN7:08 UAE (+1)10:08 PM CT-Phil Hughes allowed two runs on three hits in 3.0 innings as the San Diego Padres lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 8-4 on Wednesday. Hughes struck out three, ending the game with a 6.34 ERA and 1.65 WHIP on the season.
July 28 8:58 PM PT9:58 PM MT10:58 PM CT11:58 PM ET23:58 ET3:58 GMT11:58 8:58 PM MST10:58 PM EST9:58 PM CST11:28 PM VEN7:58 UAE (+1)10:58 PM CT-Phil Hughes allowed two runs on four hits in 1.0 inning as the San Diego Padres lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 9-4 on Saturday. Hughes struck out one, ending the game with a 6.37 ERA and 1.72 WHIP on the season.
July 28 9:49 PM PT10:49 PM MT11:49 PM CT12:49 AM ET0:49 ET4:49 GMT12:49 9:49 PM MST11:49 PM EST10:49 PM CST12:19 AM VEN8:49 UAE11:49 PM CT-Phil Hughes allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the San Diego Padres lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 6-2 on Friday. Hughes did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.97 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
July 24 6:46 PM PT7:46 PM MT8:46 PM CT9:46 PM ET21:46 ET1:46 GMT9:46 6:46 PM MST8:46 PM EST7:46 PM CST9:16 PM VEN5:46 UAE (+1)8:46 PM CT-Phil Hughes allowed two hits without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the San Diego Padres lost to the New York Mets 6-3 on Tuesday. Hughes struck out one, ending the game with a 6.18 ERA and 1.66 WHIP on the season.
July 22 5:50 PM PT6:50 PM MT7:50 PM CT8:50 PM ET20:50 ET0:50 GMT8:50 5:50 PM MST7:50 PM EST6:50 PM CST8:20 PM VEN4:50 UAE (+1)7:50 PM CT-Phil Hughes allowed one hit and two walks without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the San Diego Padres lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 5-0 on Sunday. Hughes struck out three, ending the game with a 6.41 ERA and 1.65 WHIP on the season.
July 15 10:26 PM PT11:26 PM MT12:26 AM CT1:26 AM ET1:26 ET5:26 GMT13:26 10:26 PM MST12:26 AM EST11:26 PM CST12:56 AM VEN9:26 UAE12:26 AM CT-Phil Hughes allowed three runs on three hits in 1.0 inning as the San Diego Padres lost to the Chicago Cubs 11-6 on Saturday. Hughes struck out one, ending the game with a 6.66 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
July 12 10:30 PM PT11:30 PM MT12:30 AM CT1:30 AM ET1:30 ET5:30 GMT13:30 10:30 PM MST12:30 AM EST11:30 PM CST1:00 AM VEN9:30 UAE12:30 AM CT-Phil Hughes allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the San Diego Padres lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 4-2 on Wednesday. Hughes did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.84 ERA and 1.54 WHIP on the season.
July 8 6:45 PM PT7:45 PM MT8:45 PM CT9:45 PM ET21:45 ET1:45 GMT9:45 6:45 PM MST8:45 PM EST7:45 PM CST9:15 PM VEN5:45 UAE (+1)8:45 PM CT-Phil Hughes did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the San Diego Padres defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 4-3 on Sunday. Hughes struck out two, ending the game with a 6.08 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
July 8 10:36 PM PT11:36 PM MT12:36 AM CT1:36 AM ET1:36 ET5:36 GMT13:36 10:36 PM MST12:36 AM EST11:36 PM CST1:06 AM VEN9:36 UAE12:36 AM CT-Phil Hughes allowed one run on two hits in 2.0 innings as the San Diego Padres lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 20-5 on Saturday. Hughes struck out two, ending the game with a 6.35 ERA and 1.63 WHIP on the season.
June 20 3:47 PM PT4:47 PM MT5:47 PM CT6:47 PM ET18:47 ET22:47 GMT6:47 3:47 PM MST5:47 PM EST4:47 PM CST6:17 PM VEN2:47 UAE (+1)5:47 PM CT-Phil Hughes allowed three runs on six hits in 2.0 innings as the San Diego Padres lost to the Oakland Athletics 12-4 on Wednesday. Hughes struck out three, ending the game with a 6.53 ERA and 1.69 WHIP on the season.
June 11 8:13 PM PT9:13 PM MT10:13 PM CT11:13 PM ET23:13 ET3:13 GMT11:13 8:13 PM MST10:13 PM EST9:13 PM CST10:43 PM VEN7:13 UAE (+1)10:13 PM CT-Phil Hughes allowed one run on one hit in 2.0 innings as the San Diego Padres lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-2 on Monday. Hughes struck out two, ending the game with a 5.79 ERA and 1.55 WHIP on the season.
June 8 7:13 PM PT8:13 PM MT9:13 PM CT10:13 PM ET22:13 ET2:13 GMT10:13 7:13 PM MST9:13 PM EST8:13 PM CST9:43 PM VEN6:13 UAE (+1)9:13 PM CT-Phil Hughes walked two and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the San Diego Padres lost to the Miami Marlins 4-0 on Friday. Hughes struck out one, ending the game with a 5.94 ERA and 1.68 WHIP on the season.
June 6 10:08 PM PT11:08 PM MT12:08 AM CT1:08 AM ET1:08 ET5:08 GMT13:08 10:08 PM MST12:08 AM EST11:08 PM CST12:38 AM VEN9:08 UAE12:08 AM CT-Phil Hughes did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the San Diego Padres lost to the Atlanta Braves 14-1 on Tuesday. Hughes struck out one, ending the game with a 6.32 ERA and 1.66 WHIP on the season.
June 5 10:11 PM PT11:11 PM MT12:11 AM CT1:11 AM ET1:11 ET5:11 GMT13:11 10:11 PM MST12:11 AM EST11:11 PM CST12:41 AM VEN9:11 UAE12:11 AM CT-Phil Hughes allowed one run on three hits in 1.0 inning as the San Diego Padres defeated the Atlanta Braves 11-4 on Monday. Hughes struck out two, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 1.77 WHIP on the season.
June 2 8:32 PM PT9:32 PM MT10:32 PM CT11:32 PM ET23:32 ET3:32 GMT11:32 8:32 PM MST10:32 PM EST9:32 PM CST11:02 PM VEN7:32 UAE (+1)10:32 PM CT-Phil Hughes allowed one run on one hit in 1.0 inning as the San Diego Padres defeated the Cincinnati Reds 8-2 on Saturday. Hughes struck out one, ending the game with a 6.59 ERA and 1.68 WHIP on the season.
June 1 9:12 PM PT10:12 PM MT11:12 PM CT12:12 AM ET0:12 ET4:12 GMT12:12 9:12 PM MST11:12 PM EST10:12 PM CST11:42 PM VEN8:12 UAE11:12 PM CT-Phil Hughes allowed two hits and one walk without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the San Diego Padres defeated the Miami Marlins 8-3 on Thursday. Hughes struck out one, ending the game with a 6.39 ERA and 1.74 WHIP on the season.
May 22 9:40 PM PT10:40 PM MT11:40 PM CT12:40 AM ET0:40 ET4:40 GMT12:40 9:40 PM MST11:40 PM EST10:40 PM CST12:10 AM VEN8:40 UAE11:40 PM CT-Hughes has joined the San Diego and is set to start out in the bullpen.
Analysis: Hughes was acquired from Minnesota on Sunday, along with the 74th overall pick in the 2018 draft, for young catcher Janigson Villalobos. Hughes, a 31-year-old righty, had a 6.75 ERA in seven appearances, including two starts, for the Twins this year. In his career, he's gone 88-79 over parts of 12 seasons with the Yankees and Twins.
May 18 8:08 PM PT9:08 PM MT10:08 PM CT11:08 PM ET23:08 ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST10:08 PM EST9:08 PM CST10:38 PM VEN7:08 UAE (+1)10:08 PM CT-Phil Hughes allowed one run on two hits and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 8-3 on Friday. Hughes struck out one, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
May 16 2:04 PM PT3:04 PM MT4:04 PM CT5:04 PM ET17:04 ET21:04 GMT5:04 2:04 PM MST4:04 PM EST3:04 PM CST4:34 PM VEN1:04 UAE (+1)4:04 PM CT-Phil Hughes allowed one run on one hit in 1.0 inning as the Minnesota Twins lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 7-5 on Wednesday. Hughes struck out one, ending the game with a 6.55 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
May 14 8:46 PM PT9:46 PM MT10:46 PM CT11:46 PM ET23:46 ET3:46 GMT11:46 8:46 PM MST10:46 PM EST9:46 PM CST11:16 PM VEN7:46 UAE (+1)10:46 PM CT-Phil Hughes did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Seattle Mariners 1-0 on Monday. Hughes did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.30 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
May 8 1:12 PM PT2:12 PM MT3:12 PM CT4:12 PM ET16:12 ET20:12 GMT4:12 1:12 PM MST3:12 PM EST2:12 PM CST3:42 PM VEN0:12 UAE (+1)3:12 PM CT-Phil Hughes did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Minnesota Twins defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 7-1 on Tuesday. Hughes did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 7.00 ERA and 1.67 WHIP on the season.
May 5 7:37 PM PT8:37 PM MT9:37 PM CT10:37 PM ET22:37 ET2:37 GMT10:37 7:37 PM MST9:37 PM EST8:37 PM CST10:07 PM VEN6:37 UAE (+1)9:37 PM CT-Phil Hughes allowed one run on one hit in 1.0 inning as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Chicago White Sox 8-4 on Saturday. Hughes struck out one, ending the game with a 7.88 ERA and 1.88 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 9:15 PM PT10:15 PM MT11:15 PM CT12:15 AM ET0:15 ET4:15 GMT12:15 9:15 PM MST11:15 PM EST10:15 PM CST11:45 PM VEN8:15 UAE11:15 PM CT-Phil Hughes allowed four runs on five hits and two walks in 3.2 innings as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Cincinnati Reds 15-9 on Friday. Hughes struck out three, ending the game with a 7.71 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 22 1:52 PM PT2:52 PM MT3:52 PM CT4:52 PM ET16:52 ET20:52 GMT4:52 1:52 PM MST3:52 PM EST2:52 PM CST4:22 PM VEN0:52 UAE (+1)3:52 PM CT-Phil Hughes allowed two runs on five hits and two walks in 3.1 innings as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 8-6 on Sunday. Hughes struck out two, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 2.10 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 27 1:43 PM PT2:43 PM MT3:43 PM CT4:43 PM ET16:43 ET20:43 GMT4:43 1:43 PM MST3:43 PM EST2:43 PM CST4:13 PM VEN0:43 UAE (+1)3:43 PM CT-The Twins activated Hughes (oblique) from the disabled list, and he'll make his season debut Sunday against the Rays.
Analysis: Hughes pronounced himself ready to go after throwing five scoreless innings in a second rehab start for Class A Fort Myers on April 14. He only threw 61 pitches in that outing, so the Twins likely won't push him overly hard in his return.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2007 NYY 5 3 0 - 0 13 13 0 72.2 64 39 36 8 29 0 58 1.28 4.46
2008 NYY 0 4 0 - 0 8 8 0 34.0 43 26 25 3 15 0 23 1.71 6.62
2009 NYY 8 3 3 - 6 51 7 0 86.0 68 31 29 8 28 1 96 1.12 3.03
2010 NYY 18 8 0 - 0 31 29 0 176.1 162 83 82 25 58 1 146 1.25 4.19
2011 NYY 5 5 0 - 0 17 14 1 74.2 84 48 48 9 27 2 47 1.49 5.79
2012 NYY 16 13 0 - 0 32 32 1 191.1 196 101 89 35 46 0 165 1.26 4.19
2013 NYY 4 14 0 - 0 30 29 0 145.2 170 91 84 24 42 4 121 1.46 5.19
2014 Min 16 10 0 - 0 32 32 1 209.2 221 88 82 16 16 1 186 1.13 3.52
2015 Min 11 9 0 - 0 27 25 1 155.1 184 76 76 29 16 0 94 1.29 4.40
2016 Min 1 7 0 - 0 12 11 1 59.0 76 40 39 11 13 0 34 1.51 5.95
2017 Min 4 3 0 - 0 14 9 0 53.2 72 38 35 12 13 2 38 1.58 5.87
2018 Min 0 0 0 - 0 7 2 0 12.0 14 9 9 4 5 1 8 1.58 6.75
2018 SD 0 0 0 - 0 16 0 0 20.2 30 14 14 7 5 0 24 1.69 6.10
2018 Tot 0 0 0 - 0 23 2 0 32.2 44 23 23 11 10 1 32 1.65 6.34
Career 88 79 3 - 6 290 211 5 1291.0 1384 684 648 191 313 12 1040 1.31 4.52

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 NYY 31 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 NYY 32 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 NYY 30 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Min 32 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 Min 27 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 Min 12 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2018 SD 16 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2018 Tot 23 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 290 18 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 8 0 0 .000 .000 .000

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2007 NYY Total 1 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 5.2 3 1 1 1 0 0 6 1.59
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 5.2 3 1 1 1 0 0 6 1.59
2009 NYY Total 0 1 0 - 1 9 0 0 6.1 11 6 6 1 4 0 7 8.53
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 2.0 5 2 2 0 1 0 3 9.00
    LCS 0 1 0 - 1 3 0 0 2.2 4 1 1 0 1 0 3 3.38
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 1.2 2 3 3 1 2 0 1 16.20
2010 NYY Total 1 2 0 - 0 3 3 0 15.2 18 11 11 1 8 3 12 6.32
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.0 4 0 0 0 1 0 6 0.00
    LCS 0 2 0 - 0 2 2 0 8.2 14 11 11 1 7 3 6 11.42
2011 NYY Total 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.1 2 0 0 0 0 0 4 0.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.1 2 0 0 0 0 0 4 0.00
2012 NYY Total 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 9.2 7 2 2 2 6 0 9 1.86
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.2 4 1 1 1 3 0 8 1.35
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 3.0 3 1 1 1 3 0 1 3.00
Career 2 4 0 - 1 18 5 0 39.2 41 20 20 5 18 3 38 4.54


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 336 93 87 90.6 59.79
Curveball 98 81 75 78.4 17.44
Split-Finger 5 82 80 80.8 .89
Cut Fastball 123 91 83 87.9 21.89

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.