MLB Player Stats - Shohei Ohtani - LA Angels

MLB Baseball
News | Scoreboard | Matchups | Stats | Standings | Teams | Players | Player News | Injuries | Transactions
#17
Shohei Ohtani
ERA W-L K
3.60 2-1 19
Team: LA AngelsHt / Wt: 6-4 / 200
Position: SPBorn: 7/5/1994 Birthplace: Oshu, Japan
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: Undrafted by Angels (2017)


Latest News
Apr. 22 4:55 PM PT5:55 PM MT6:55 PM CT7:55 PM ET19:55 ET23:55 GMT7:55 4:55 PM MST6:55 PM EST7:25 PM VEN3:55 UAE (+1)6:55 PM CT-Shohei Ohtani went 1 for 4 Sunday as the Los Angeles Angels lost to the San Francisco Giants 4-2. He ended the game with a .333 batting average.
Apr. 21 5:35 PM PT6:35 PM MT7:35 PM CT8:35 PM ET20:35 ET0:35 GMT8:35 5:35 PM MST7:35 PM EST8:05 PM VEN4:35 UAE (+1)7:35 PM CT-Ohtani is scheduled to throw a ''full gorilla'' bullpen session on Sunday that will give the Angels a better idea if the blister that forced the Japanese two-way sensation out of his last pitching start has healed.
Analysis: Manager Mike Scioscia said he'll wait until after Sunday afternoon's game to confirm when Ohtani's next pitching start will be. It could be Monday at Houston. A blister on his right middle finger forced him out of Tuesday night's start against Boston after just two innings. He allowed four hits and three runs on 66 pitches, and couldn't throw his breaking pitches for strikes.
Apr. 21 10:01 PM PT11:01 PM MT12:01 AM CT1:01 AM ET1:01 ET5:01 GMT13:01 10:01 PM MST12:01 AM EST12:31 AM VEN9:01 UAE12:01 AM CT-Shohei Ohtani went 2 for 4 Friday as the Los Angeles Angels fell to the San Francisco Giants 8-1. He ended the game with a .342 batting average.
Apr. 20 10:46 PM PT11:46 PM MT12:46 AM CT1:46 AM ET1:46 ET5:46 GMT13:46 10:46 PM MST12:46 AM EST1:16 AM VEN9:46 UAE12:46 AM CT-Shohei Ohtani went 0 for 4 Thursday as the Los Angeles Angels fell to the Boston Red Sox 8-2. He ended the game with a .324 batting average.
Apr. 18 5:48 PM PT6:48 PM MT7:48 PM CT8:48 PM ET20:48 ET0:48 GMT8:48 5:48 PM MST7:48 PM EST8:18 PM VEN4:48 UAE (+1)7:48 PM CT-Ohtani is expected to make his next start for the Angels after the Japanese two-way sensation was limited to two innings in his third career start Tuesday because of a blister on the middle finger of his right hand.
Analysis: Scioscia said the blister would not keep Ohtani from being available to hit against the Red Sox on Thursday, but his possible inclusion as the designated hitter would depend entirely on lineup considerations. Ohtani is batting .367 with three home runs and 11 RBIs in eight games.
Apr. 17 8:52 PM PT9:52 PM MT10:52 PM CT11:52 PM ET23:52 ET3:52 GMT11:52 8:52 PM MST10:52 PM EST11:22 PM VEN7:52 UAE (+1)10:52 PM CT-Ohtani's third start for the Angels lasted only two innings Tuesday night after he developed a blister on his pitching hand. Although his fastball again hit 99 mph and he only walked one batter, Ohtani needed 66 pitches to get through two innings.
Analysis: The Angels pulled the Japanese two-way sensation early after he yielded three runs and four hits while struggling with his control against the Red Sox. One inning after Ohtani left, the Angels announced the right-hander had developed a blister during the second inning.
Apr. 8 4:06 PM PT5:06 PM MT6:06 PM CT7:06 PM ET19:06 ET23:06 GMT7:06 4:06 PM MST6:06 PM EST6:36 PM VEN3:06 UAE (+1)6:06 PM CT-Shohei Ohtani improved to 2-0, allowing one hit and one walk over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Los Angeles Angels defeated the Oakland Athletics 6-1 on Sunday. Ohtani struck out 12, ending the game with a 2.08 ERA and 0.46 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Marcus Semien's clean one-out single to left broke up Ohtani's bid for a perfect game. Mixing 99 mph fastballs with precipitous breaking pitches and tremendous professional cool, Ohtani (2-0) was too much for Oakland.
Apr. 1 4:17 PM PT5:17 PM MT6:17 PM CT7:17 PM ET19:17 ET23:17 GMT7:17 4:17 PM MST6:17 PM EST6:47 PM VEN3:17 UAE (+1)6:17 PM CT-Shohei Ohtani improved to 1-0, allowing three runs on three hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Los Angeles Angels defeated the Oakland Athletics 7-4 on Sunday. Ohtani struck out six, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 0.67 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 28 12:02 AM PT1:02 AM MT2:02 AM CT3:02 AM ET3:02 ET7:02 GMT15:02 12:02 AM MST2:02 AM EST2:32 AM VEN11:02 UAE2:02 AM CT-Ohtani is scheduled to make his major league pitching debut Sunday when he starts for the Los Angeles Angels in their fourth game of the season at Oakland.
Analysis: The much-hyped Japanese star is expected to be the team's designated hitter in at least one of the first three games, but it's unclear if that will happen in the opener on Thursday. "We haven't determined our opening-day lineup yet," Angels manager Mike Scioscia said Tuesday night. The 23-year-old Ohtani, who struggled in spring training, was told after Tuesday's exhibition game against the Dodgers that he'll pitch Sunday.
Mar. 24 6:45 PM PT7:45 PM MT8:45 PM CT9:45 PM ET21:45 ET1:45 GMT9:45 6:45 PM MST8:45 PM EST9:15 PM VEN5:45 UAE (+1)7:45 PM CT-Ohtani's final time on the mound in spring training Saturday was a mixed bag, leaving the Los Angeles Angels noncommittal on what's next for the two-way star from Japan. Ohtani worked into the sixth inning of an intrasquad game on a back field, throwing only 47 strikes in 85 pitches to mostly minor leaguers. He walked five, hit a batter and threw two wild pitches while allowing two runs on just two hits. The 23-year-old righty struck out five.
Analysis: When does Ohtani pitch again? He politely replied through a translator to ask manager Mike Scioscia. Scioscia isn't saying. He said Ohtani would be the designated hitter for some of the three Freeway Series exhibition games against the Los Angeles Dodgers. As a DH, Ohtani batted .107 with three singles in 28 at-bats with three walks and nine strikeouts.
Mar. 16 3:27 PM PT4:27 PM MT5:27 PM CT6:27 PM ET18:27 ET22:27 GMT6:27 3:27 PM MST5:27 PM EST5:57 PM VEN2:27 UAE (+1)4:27 PM CT-Ohtani was rocked for seven runs over 1 1/3 innings in his second major league spring training start for the Los Angeles Angels, allowing long home runs to Colorado's Ian Desmond and Nolan Arenado on Friday.
Analysis: The 23-year-old Japanese two-way star was making his first big league exhibition appearance since Feb. 24, when he pitched 1 1/3 innings against Milwaukee and gave up Keon Broxton's home run leading off the second.
Mar. 12 5:26 PM PT6:26 PM MT7:26 PM CT8:26 PM ET20:26 ET0:26 GMT8:26 5:26 PM MST7:26 PM EST7:56 PM VEN4:26 UAE (+1)6:26 PM CT-Angels DH Shohei Ohtani went 0 for 4 on Monday.
Analysis: The much-hyped pitcher/DH has struggled both on the mound and at the plate so far this spring. He's batting .111.
Feb. 26 2:14 PM PT3:14 PM MT4:14 PM CT5:14 PM ET17:14 ET22:14 GMT6:14 3:14 PM MST5:14 PM EST5:44 PM VEN2:14 UAE (+1)4:14 PM CT-Ohtani hit a sharp RBI single up the middle and also walked twice in his first spring training start as a designated hitter for the Los Angeles Angels.
Analysis: Batting second Monday, the 23-year-old fell behind 0-2 against San Diego Padres right-hander Jordan Lyles before drawing four straight balls in the first inning. The lefty-hitting phenom walked again in the third against Buddy Bauman. Ohtani then hit the first pitch he saw from Michael Mariot for a single in the fifth in his last time up. His first Cactus League at-bats came two days after his first start on the mound.
Feb. 24 1:26 PM PT2:26 PM MT3:26 PM CT4:26 PM ET16:26 ET21:26 GMT5:26 2:26 PM MST4:26 PM EST4:56 PM VEN1:26 UAE (+1)3:26 PM CT-Ohtani struggled in his spring pitching debut with the Los Angeles Angels on Saturday, allowing a home run and lasting a few batters less than scheduled.
Analysis: Ohtani allowed two runs, one earned, and two hits in 1 1-3 innings. Keon Broxton tagged him for a home run leading off the second inning. The right-hander struck out two and walked one. He threw 31 pitches, 17 strikes. He had been scheduled to go two innings.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2018 LAA 2 1 0 - 0 3 3 0 15.0 8 6 6 2 4 0 19 0.80 3.60
Career 2 1 0 - 0 3 3 0 15.0 8 6 6 2 4 0 19 0.80 3.60

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2018 LAA 14 42 5 14 1 1 3 11 3 12 0 0 .333 .378 .619
Career 14 42 5 14 1 1 3 11 3 12 0 0 .333 .378 .619


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 118 100 92 97.2 47.39
Curveball 6 76 69 73.5 2.41
Slider 56 88 79 82.2 22.49
Split-Finger 69 91 83 87.5 27.71

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.