MLB Player Stats - Luis Castillo - Cincinnati

MLB Baseball
News | Scoreboard | Matchups | Stats | Standings | Teams | Players | Player News | Injuries | Transactions
#58
Luis Castillo
ERA W-L K
3.12 3-7 98
Team: CincinnatiHt / Wt: 6-2 / 190 NFBC ADP: 674.67
Position: SPBorn: 12/12/1992 Birthplace: Bani, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Giants (2011)


Latest News
Sep. 2 9:08 PM PT10:08 PM MT11:08 PM CT12:08 AM ET0:08 ET4:08 GMT12:08 9:08 PM MST11:08 PM EST11:38 PM VEN8:08 UAE11:08 PM CT-Castillo allowed two runs on three hits and one walk in 4.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 7-3 on Friday. Castillo struck out five, ending the game with a 3.32 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Castillo matched his shortest outing of the season.
Aug. 26 6:25 PM PT7:25 PM MT8:25 PM CT9:25 PM ET21:25 ET1:25 GMT9:25 6:25 PM MST8:25 PM EST8:55 PM VEN5:25 UAE (+1)8:25 PM CT-Luis Castillo fell to 2-7, allowing one run on three hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 1-0 on Saturday. Castillo struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.26 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Castillo's only mistake was a homer by opposing pitcher Gerrit Cole. The rookie right-hander is 0-2 in his last three starts despite posting a 1.59 ERA as the Reds have given him zero runs of support in each of those outings.
Aug. 20 2:39 PM PT3:39 PM MT4:39 PM CT5:39 PM ET17:39 ET21:39 GMT5:39 2:39 PM MST4:39 PM EST5:09 PM VEN1:39 UAE (+1)4:39 PM CT-Luis Castillo fell to 2-6, allowing two runs on four hits and two walks in 4.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Atlanta Braves 8-1 on Sunday. Castillo struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.45 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 16 9:20 AM PT10:20 AM MT11:20 AM CT12:20 PM ET12:20 ET16:20 GMT0:20 9:20 AM MST11:20 AM EST11:50 AM VEN20:20 UAE11:20 AM CT-Luis Castillo allowed two hits and two walks without giving up a run in 6.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Chicago Cubs 2-1 on Tuesday. Castillo struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.39 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 10 3:31 PM PT4:31 PM MT5:31 PM CT6:31 PM ET18:31 ET22:31 GMT6:31 3:31 PM MST5:31 PM EST6:01 PM VEN2:31 UAE (+1)5:31 PM CT-Luis Castillo allowed three runs on six hits and three walks in 6.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the San Diego Padres 10-3 on Thursday. Castillo struck out four, ending the game with a 3.73 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 5 8:49 PM PT9:49 PM MT10:49 PM CT11:49 PM ET23:49 ET3:49 GMT11:49 8:49 PM MST10:49 PM EST11:19 PM VEN7:49 UAE (+1)10:49 PM CT-Castillo fell to 2-5, allowing four runs - three earned - on three hits and five walks in 6.1 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 4-1 on Saturday. Castillo struck out four, ending the game with a 3.64 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Castillo struggled with his control, tying his season and career high with five walks and hitting two batters
July 30 2:03 PM PT3:03 PM MT4:03 PM CT5:03 PM ET17:03 ET21:03 GMT5:03 2:03 PM MST4:03 PM EST4:33 PM VEN1:03 UAE (+1)4:03 PM CT-Luis Castillo improved to 2-4, allowing one run on three hits and one walk in 8.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Miami Marlins 6-4 on Sunday. Castillo struck out six, ending the game with a 3.56 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Castillo threw 70 of his 106 pitches for strikes and continued an impressive if somewhat uneven beginning to his career.
July 25 7:29 PM PT8:29 PM MT9:29 PM CT10:29 PM ET22:29 ET2:29 GMT10:29 7:29 PM MST9:29 PM EST9:59 PM VEN6:29 UAE (+1)9:29 PM CT-Luis Castillo fell to 1-4, allowing three runs on seven hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the New York Yankees 4-2 on Tuesday. Castillo struck out two, ending the game with a 4.05 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
July 20 12:56 PM PT1:56 PM MT2:56 PM CT3:56 PM ET15:56 ET19:56 GMT3:56 12:56 PM MST2:56 PM EST3:26 PM VEN23:56 UAE2:56 PM CT-Luis Castillo fell to 1-3, allowing four runs on four hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 12-2 on Thursday. Castillo struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
July 15 8:28 PM PT9:28 PM MT10:28 PM CT11:28 PM ET23:28 ET3:28 GMT11:28 8:28 PM MST10:28 PM EST10:58 PM VEN7:28 UAE (+1)10:28 PM CT-Luis Castillo fell to 1-2, allowing three runs on three hits and four walks in 6.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Washington Nationals 10-7 on Saturday. Castillo struck out six, ending the game with a 3.41 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
July 9 9:36 AM PT10:36 AM MT11:36 AM CT12:36 PM ET12:36 ET16:36 GMT0:36 9:36 AM MST11:36 AM EST12:06 PM VEN20:36 UAE11:36 AM CT-Luis Castillo improved to 1-1, allowing three hits and one walk over 6.2 scoreless innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 7-0 on Saturday. Castillo struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.13 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Making his fourth career start, the rookie from the Dominican Republic held the Diamondbacks hitless for the game's first three innings, then after giving up a single to Paul Goldschmidt retired the next nine Diamondbacks. You couldn't ask for more than that -- that was a great performance," Reds manager Bryan Price said. "He had a nice mix, he really did. (He) was able to bring in the changeup and the breaking ball but threw the fastball with confidence."
July 4 7:21 AM PT8:21 AM MT9:21 AM CT10:21 AM ET10:21 ET14:21 GMT22:21 7:21 AM MST9:21 AM EST9:51 AM VEN18:21 UAE9:21 AM CT-Luis Castillo fell to 0-1, allowing four runs on nine hits and one walk in 5.2 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Colorado Rockies 5-3 on Monday. Castillo struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.41 ERA and 1.71 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Castillo has allowed five homers and a .987 OPS through his first three major league starts.
June 29 8:39 AM PT9:39 AM MT10:39 AM CT11:39 AM ET11:39 ET15:39 GMT23:39 8:39 AM MST10:39 AM EST11:09 AM VEN19:39 UAE10:39 AM CT-Luis Castillo allowed two runs on five hits and three walks in 5.2 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 4-3 on Wednesday. Castillo struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.69 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Castillo gave up a Ryan Bruan homer after serving up two home runs in five innings in his major league debut at Washington on June 23.
June 23 8:13 PM PT9:13 PM MT10:13 PM CT11:13 PM ET23:13 ET3:13 GMT11:13 8:13 PM MST10:13 PM EST10:43 PM VEN7:13 UAE (+1)10:13 PM CT-Castillo allowed two runs on five hits and five walks in 5.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Washington Nationals 6-5 on Friday. Castillo struck out five, ending the game with a 3.60 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Castillo pitched five effective innings in his major league debut and left with a 5-2 lead, but the Cincinnati bullpen deprived him of the victory.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2017 Cin 3 7 0 - 0 15 15 0 89.1 64 32 31 11 32 1 98 1.07 3.12
Career 3 7 0 - 0 15 15 0 89.1 64 32 31 11 32 1 98 1.07 3.12

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2017 Cin 15 29 0 2 0 0 0 1 1 11 0 0 .069 .100 .069
Career 15 29 0 2 0 0 0 1 1 11 0 0 .069 .100 .069


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 924 100 92 97.3 62.31
Slider 223 89 82 85 15.04
Changeup 336 89 84 87.3 22.66

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.