MLB Player Stats - Chad Kuhl - Pittsburgh

MLB Baseball
News | Scoreboard | Matchups | Stats | Standings | Teams | Players | Player News | Injuries | Transactions
#39
Chad Kuhl
ERA W-L K
4.35 8-11 142
Team: PittsburghHt / Wt: 6-3 / 220 NFBC ADP: 427.88
Position: SPBorn: 9/10/1992 Birthplace: Newark, Delaware
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 9th Round by Pirates (2013)


Latest News
Sep. 27 7:00 PM PT8:00 PM MT9:00 PM CT10:00 PM ET22:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 7:00 PM MST9:00 PM EST9:30 PM VEN6:00 UAE (+1)9:00 PM CT-Chad Kuhl improved to 8-11, allowing three runs on eight hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Baltimore Orioles 5-3 on Wednesday. Kuhl struck out five, ending the game with a 4.35 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 15 8:24 PM PT9:24 PM MT10:24 PM CT11:24 PM ET23:24 ET3:24 GMT11:24 8:24 PM MST10:24 PM EST10:54 PM VEN7:24 UAE (+1)10:24 PM CT-Chad Kuhl fell to 7-11, allowing four runs on eight hits and three walks in 4.2 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Cincinnati Reds 4-2 on Friday. Kuhl struck out six, ending the game with a 4.31 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Kuhl gave up four home runs, a single-game career high for the second-year right-hander. He previously hadn't allowed more than two in any game and yielded only four over a combined 12 starts in July and August.
Sep. 9 7:52 PM PT8:52 PM MT9:52 PM CT10:52 PM ET22:52 ET2:52 GMT10:52 7:52 PM MST9:52 PM EST10:22 PM VEN6:52 UAE (+1)9:52 PM CT-Chad Kuhl allowed two runs - one earned - on two hits and five walks in 6.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 4-3 on Saturday. Kuhl struck out six, ending the game with a 4.21 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 4 4:47 PM PT5:47 PM MT6:47 PM CT7:47 PM ET19:47 ET23:47 GMT7:47 4:47 PM MST6:47 PM EST7:17 PM VEN3:47 UAE (+1)6:47 PM CT-Chad Kuhl improved to 7-10, allowing four hits and two walks over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Chicago Cubs 12-0 on Monday. Kuhl struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.32 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 30 9:30 AM PT10:30 AM MT11:30 AM CT12:30 PM ET12:30 ET16:30 GMT0:30 9:30 AM MST11:30 AM EST12:00 PM VEN20:30 UAE11:30 AM CT-Chad Kuhl fell to 6-10, allowing three runs on seven hits and three walks in 5.1 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Chicago Cubs 4-1 on Tuesday. Kuhl struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.54 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Kuhl dropped to 0-2 with an 11.70 ERA and 2.70 WHIP in three starts against the Cubs this season, and next takes the ball Monday against the Cubs at PNC Park.
Aug. 24 5:09 PM PT6:09 PM MT7:09 PM CT8:09 PM ET20:09 ET0:09 GMT8:09 5:09 PM MST7:09 PM EST7:39 PM VEN4:09 UAE (+1)7:09 PM CT-Chad Kuhl fell to 6-9, allowing two runs on six hits and five walks in 4.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-2 on Thursday. Kuhl struck out two, ending the game with a 4.52 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 20 9:57 AM PT10:57 AM MT11:57 AM CT12:57 PM ET12:57 ET16:57 GMT0:57 9:57 AM MST11:57 AM EST12:27 PM VEN20:57 UAE11:57 AM CT-Chad Kuhl improved to 6-8, allowing one run on three hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 6-4 on Saturday. Kuhl struck out six, ending the game with a 4.52 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Kuhl survived a two-hour rain delay and has been much better in day start this season, posting a 2.75 ERA in eight outings.
Aug. 13 2:06 PM PT3:06 PM MT4:06 PM CT5:06 PM ET17:06 ET21:06 GMT5:06 2:06 PM MST4:06 PM EST4:36 PM VEN1:06 UAE (+1)4:06 PM CT-Chad Kuhl fell to 5-8, allowing five runs - four earned - on four hits and five walks in 5.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 7-1 on Sunday. Kuhl struck out six, ending the game with a 4.64 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Control issues have plagued the right-hander. His 52 walks are among the most in the NL. He issued only three walks combined over his previous two starts and won both.
Aug. 8 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)10:07 PM CT-Chad Kuhl improved to 5-7, allowing three runs on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Detroit Tigers 6-3 on Tuesday. Kuhl struck out six, ending the game with a 4.53 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Kuhl also helped his cause by lining a two-run single for the first RBIs of his big league career. After putting together an unimpressive first half, the 24-year-old has bounced back by going 3-1 with a 2.93 ERA over his last eight starts, a stretch in which he's surrendered only one home run in 46 innings.
Aug. 3 7:26 PM PT8:26 PM MT9:26 PM CT10:26 PM ET22:26 ET2:26 GMT10:26 7:26 PM MST9:26 PM EST9:56 PM VEN6:26 UAE (+1)9:26 PM CT-Chad Kuhl improved to 4-7, allowing four hits and two walks over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Cincinnati Reds 6-0 on Thursday. Kuhl struck out six, ending the game with a 4.53 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Kuhl began the season as Pittsburgh's fourth starter and the team has stuck with him even as he struggled to find any sort of rhythm. He went more than two months between victories and worked into the seventh inning just once in his first 14 starts. Manager Clint Hurdle preached patience, and Kuhl is making progress. Kuhl is now 2-1 with a 2.70 ERA since July 1 and needed just 96 pitches to get 21 outs on Thursday.
July 29 10:45 AM PT11:45 AM MT12:45 PM CT1:45 PM ET13:45 ET17:45 GMT1:45 10:45 AM MST12:45 PM EST1:15 PM VEN21:45 UAE12:45 PM CT-Chad Kuhl allowed two runs on four hits and five walks in 5.1 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the San Diego Padres 3-2 on Friday. Kuhl struck out four, ending the game with a 4.84 ERA and 1.49 WHIP on the season.
July 23 8:23 AM PT9:23 AM MT10:23 AM CT11:23 AM ET11:23 ET15:23 GMT23:23 8:23 AM MST10:23 AM EST10:53 AM VEN19:23 UAE10:23 AM CT-Chad Kuhl fell to 3-7, allowing four runs on nine hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Colorado Rockies 7-3 on Saturday. Kuhl struck out four, ending the game with a 4.92 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Kuhl has been a perfectly fine back-of-the-rotation starter the past few months. He's 2-2 with a 3.78 ERA since the beginning of June.
July 17 7:53 PM PT8:53 PM MT9:53 PM CT10:53 PM ET22:53 ET2:53 GMT10:53 7:53 PM MST9:53 PM EST10:23 PM VEN6:53 UAE (+1)9:53 PM CT-Chad Kuhl allowed two runs on four hits and three walks in 5.2 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 4-2 on Monday. Kuhl struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.85 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Brewers catcher Stephen Vogt left the game in the fifth inning after a collision with Kuhl at the plate. Vogt caught an incidental elbow to the head from Kuhl, and both players were down for several minutes. Kuhl remained in the game and went on to set a career high in strikeouts. The right-hander is 1-0 with a 2.49 ERA in his last four starts.
July 10 2:00 PM PT3:00 PM MT4:00 PM CT5:00 PM ET17:00 ET21:00 GMT5:00 2:00 PM MST4:00 PM EST4:30 PM VEN1:00 UAE (+1)4:00 PM CT-Chad Kuhl allowed one run on two hits and three walks in 3.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Chicago Cubs 14-3 on Sunday. Kuhl struck out four, ending the game with a 4.96 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Working on two days' rest, Kuhl pitched relatively well while filling in for an ill Jameson Taillon. Still, he needs to pitch better in the second half.
July 6 8:22 PM PT9:22 PM MT10:22 PM CT11:22 PM ET23:22 ET3:22 GMT11:22 8:22 PM MST10:22 PM EST10:52 PM VEN7:22 UAE (+1)10:22 PM CT-Chad Kuhl improved to 3-6, allowing three runs - two earned - on six hits and three walks in 7.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 6-3 on Thursday. Kuhl struck out three, ending the game with a 5.03 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
July 1 5:58 PM PT6:58 PM MT7:58 PM CT8:58 PM ET20:58 ET0:58 GMT8:58 5:58 PM MST7:58 PM EST8:28 PM VEN4:58 UAE (+1)7:58 PM CT-Chad Kuhl allowed one run on two hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the San Francisco Giants 2-1 on Saturday. Kuhl struck out three, ending the game with a 5.26 ERA and 1.49 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Kuhl snapped a streak of 12 consecutive starts of five innings or fewer. He carried a no-hitter into the sixth inning before allowing a homer to Austin Slater.
June 26 7:43 AM PT8:43 AM MT9:43 AM CT10:43 AM ET10:43 ET14:43 GMT22:43 7:43 AM MST9:43 AM EST10:13 AM VEN18:43 UAE9:43 AM CT-Chad Kuhl allowed four runs on eight hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 8-4 on Sunday. Kuhl struck out six, ending the game with a 5.58 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Kuhl has not recorded an out in the sixth inning since April 18 and has posted just seven outs all season beyond the fifth.
June 20 8:45 PM PT9:45 PM MT10:45 PM CT11:45 PM ET23:45 ET3:45 GMT11:45 8:45 PM MST10:45 PM EST11:15 PM VEN7:45 UAE (+1)10:45 PM CT-Chad Kuhl improved to 2-6, allowing two runs on seven hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 7-3 on Tuesday. Kuhl struck out six, ending the game with a 5.46 ERA and 1.55 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Kuhl won for the first time in 13 starts since beating Atlanta in his season debut April 8. He's posted a 3.60 ERA in his last four outings.
June 15 9:14 AM PT10:14 AM MT11:14 AM CT12:14 PM ET12:14 ET16:14 GMT0:14 9:14 AM MST11:14 AM EST11:44 AM VEN20:14 UAE11:14 AM CT-Chad Kuhl fell to 1-6, allowing three runs on four hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Colorado Rockies 5-1 on Wednesday. Kuhl struck out three, ending the game with a 5.61 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Kuhl remained winless since his April 8 season debut but has improved of late, posting a 3.60 ERA over his last three appearances. Manager Clint Hurdle plans on keeping Kuhl in the rotation for now. ''As far as the battle, the fight, it was there,'' Hurdle said.
June 7 8:34 PM PT9:34 PM MT10:34 PM CT11:34 PM ET23:34 ET3:34 GMT11:34 8:34 PM MST10:34 PM EST11:04 PM VEN7:34 UAE (+1)10:34 PM CT-Chad Kuhl allowed one run on four hits and four walks in 5.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Baltimore Orioles 9-6 on Wednesday. Kuhl struck out four, ending the game with a 5.63 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
June 1 9:21 AM PT10:21 AM MT11:21 AM CT12:21 PM ET12:21 ET16:21 GMT0:21 9:21 AM MST11:21 AM EST11:51 AM VEN20:21 UAE11:21 AM CT-Chad Kuhl allowed two runs on three hits and three walks in 5.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 6-5 on Wednesday. Kuhl struck out four, ending the game with a 6.02 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Kuhl has been brutal at PNC Park, going 1-3 with a 7.71 ERA in seven starts.
May 27 10:17 AM PT11:17 AM MT12:17 PM CT1:17 PM ET13:17 ET17:17 GMT1:17 10:17 AM MST12:17 PM EST12:47 PM VEN21:17 UAE12:17 PM CT-Chad Kuhl fell to 1-5, allowing five runs on eight hits in 4.1 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the New York Mets 8-1 on Friday. Kuhl struck out three, ending the game with a 6.29 ERA and 1.62 WHIP on the season.
May 21 2:18 PM PT3:18 PM MT4:18 PM CT5:18 PM ET17:18 ET21:18 GMT5:18 2:18 PM MST4:18 PM EST4:48 PM VEN1:18 UAE (+1)4:18 PM CT-Kuhl allowed one hit and two walks without giving up a run in 5.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 1-0 on Sunday. Kuhl struck out five, ending the game with a 5.85 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Lefties were batting .391 against Kuhl coming into the game, but he held the six Philadelphia left-handed batters hitless with a walk and three strikeouts.
May 16 7:56 PM PT8:56 PM MT9:56 PM CT10:56 PM ET22:56 ET2:56 GMT10:56 7:56 PM MST9:56 PM EST10:26 PM VEN6:56 UAE (+1)9:56 PM CT-Chad Kuhl fell to 1-4, allowing six runs on 10 hits and one walk in 4.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Washington Nationals 8-4 on Tuesday. Kuhl struck out three, ending the game with a 6.69 ERA and 1.74 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Opposing batters have really been teeing off on the young right-hander, as he's permitted a .402 average while going 0-3 with a wretched 10.70 ERA over his past five starts. Kuhl is hands-off from a fantasy standpoint until he can iron out his struggles.
May 11 8:32 AM PT9:32 AM MT10:32 AM CT11:32 AM ET11:32 ET15:32 GMT23:32 8:32 AM MST10:32 AM EST11:02 AM VEN19:32 UAE10:32 AM CT-Chad Kuhl fell to 1-3, allowing four runs on six hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-2 on Wednesday. Kuhl struck out four, ending the game with a 5.81 ERA and 1.61 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Kuhl seemed to be a solid fourth-starter type through three appearances after a solid 2016, but in his last four starts he's pitched a combined 13 2/3 innings and allowed 16 runs.
May 6 9:47 PM PT10:47 PM MT11:47 PM CT12:47 AM ET0:47 ET4:47 GMT12:47 9:47 PM MST11:47 PM EST12:17 AM VEN8:47 UAE11:47 PM CT-Chad Kuhl allowed two hits without giving up a run in 3.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 4-0 on Friday. Kuhl struck out two, ending the game with a 5.54 ERA and 1.62 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Kuhl took his regular turn in the rotation despite leaving his previous start after taking a ball off the knee against Miami. He breezed through three innings before the rain came.
May 1 8:49 PM PT9:49 PM MT10:49 PM CT11:49 PM ET23:49 ET3:49 GMT11:49 8:49 PM MST10:49 PM EST11:19 PM VEN7:49 UAE (+1)10:49 PM CT-Kuhl played catch Monday without any issues and expects to make his next start Friday against Milwaukee.
Analysis: Kuhl (1-2, 6.26 ERA) left Sunday's start in Miami in the fifth inning after being hit by a batted ball.
Apr. 30 6:48 PM PT7:48 PM MT8:48 PM CT9:48 PM ET21:48 ET1:48 GMT9:48 6:48 PM MST8:48 PM EST9:18 PM VEN5:48 UAE (+1)8:48 PM CT-Chad Kuhl allowed three runs - two earned - on seven hits and one walk in 4.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Miami Marlins 10-3 on Sunday. Kuhl struck out four, ending the game with a 6.26 ERA and 1.74 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Kuhl left the game immediately after Dee Gordon led off the bottom of the fifth inning with a hard one-hopper off his right knee. Kuhl, who allowed seven hits, one walk and three runs (two earned), doesn't believe he will miss a start. "It's a right knee contusion," Kuhl said. "It happened so quick. It was pretty intense pain. I wanted to stay back out there, but I got taken out. "I iced it down. My plan is to be out there in five days."
Apr. 30 12:43 PM PT1:43 PM MT2:43 PM CT3:43 PM ET15:43 ET19:43 GMT3:43 12:43 PM MST2:43 PM EST3:13 PM VEN23:43 UAE2:43 PM CT-Kuhl has left his team's game at Miami in the fifth inning Sunday after he was hit in the leg by Dee Gordon's sharp one-hopper.
Analysis: The ball caromed off the inside of Kuhl's right leg near his knee, and he collapsed in pain as Gordon reached on a single. Kuhl was examined by a trainer, rose and threw several warmup pitches but then left the game, walking to the dugout accompanied by manager Clint Hurdle.
Apr. 24 8:45 PM PT9:45 PM MT10:45 PM CT11:45 PM ET23:45 ET3:45 GMT11:45 8:45 PM MST10:45 PM EST11:15 PM VEN7:45 UAE (+1)10:45 PM CT-Kuhl lasted just 1 2/3 innings in Monday's 14-3 loss to the Cubs, giving up nine runs, eight hits and four walks.
Analysis: Kuhl, who pitched well while never allowing more than two runs during his first three starts, saw his ERA balloon from 2.60 to 6.63.
Apr. 19 7:47 AM PT8:47 AM MT9:47 AM CT10:47 AM ET10:47 ET14:47 GMT22:47 7:47 AM MST9:47 AM EST10:17 AM VEN18:47 UAE9:47 AM CT-Kuhl held the Cardinals to three hits over six innings Tuesday, but was touched for a pair of runs to take the loss.
Analysis: Kuhl walked six batters in his season debut but has been much sharper over his past two outings, limiting opponents to three runs, eight hits and just one free pass in a combined 12 1/3 innings. He'll next draw the world champion Cubs at home on Monday.
Apr. 13 6:43 PM PT7:43 PM MT8:43 PM CT9:43 PM ET21:43 ET1:43 GMT9:43 6:43 PM MST8:43 PM EST9:13 PM VEN5:43 UAE (+1)8:43 PM CT-Kuhl didn't get a decision Thursday but pitched very well at Fenway Park, allowing one run and five hits in 6 1/3 innings with no walks and six strikeouts.
Analysis: This outing by the second-year right-hander left manager Clint Hurdle very impressed. ''Chad pitched a fantastic game,'' Hurdle said. ''To hold that offense in check, to pitch into the seventh, no walks, six strikeouts, the fastball command was excellent.'' Kuhl has allowed two earned runs or fewer in 11 of his first 16 major league starts.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2016 Pit 5 4 0 - 0 14 14 0 70.2 73 34 33 7 20 0 53 1.32 4.20
2017 Pit 8 11 0 - 0 31 31 0 157.1 159 81 76 17 72 7 142 1.47 4.35
Career 13 15 0 - 0 45 45 0 228.0 232 115 109 24 92 7 195 1.42 4.30

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2016 Pit 15 23 0 2 0 0 0 0 1 9 0 0 .087 .125 .087
2017 Pit 33 48 2 5 2 0 0 3 1 16 0 0 .104 .122 .146
Career 48 71 2 7 2 0 0 3 2 25 0 0 .099 .123 .127


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1705 100 85 95.4 63.48
Curveball 166 87 77 82.5 6.18
Slider 551 93 84 88.5 20.51
Changeup 264 93 82 88.8 9.83

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.