MLB Player Stats - Steven Souza Jr. - Arizona

MLB Baseball
News | Scoreboard | Matchups | Stats | Standings | Teams | Players | Player News | Injuries | Transactions
#28
Steven Souza Jr.
AVG HR RBI
.163 0 1
Team: ArizonaHt / Wt: 6-4 / 225
Position: RFBorn: 4/24/1989 Birthplace: Everett, Washington
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 3rd Round by Nationals (2007)


Latest News
May 22 1:25 PM PT2:25 PM MT3:25 PM CT4:25 PM ET16:25 ET20:25 GMT4:25 1:25 PM MST3:25 PM EST3:55 PM VEN0:25 UAE (+1)3:25 PM CT-The Diamondbacks have placed Souza on the 10-day disabled list with an aggravation of a previous pectoral injury.
Analysis: The Diamondbacks may now be regretting the decision to let Souza pinch hit in Monday's loss at Milwaukee, as they could have backdated the DL stint to Saturday. Either way, the injury has clearly been a significant issue for the outfielder, who's coming off a 30-homer season with the Rays in 2017. He missed all of April after initially hurting his chest in spring training, and he's 7 for 43 (.163) with one extra-base hit since returning.
May 21 7:16 PM PT8:16 PM MT9:16 PM CT10:16 PM ET22:16 ET2:16 GMT10:16 7:16 PM MST9:16 PM EST9:46 PM VEN6:16 UAE (+1)9:16 PM CT-Steven Souza Jr. went 0 for 1 Monday as the Arizona Diamondbacks fell to the Milwaukee Brewers 4-2. He ended the game with a .163 batting average.
May 19 3:46 PM PT4:46 PM MT5:46 PM CT6:46 PM ET18:46 ET22:46 GMT6:46 3:46 PM MST5:46 PM EST6:16 PM VEN2:46 UAE (+1)5:46 PM CT-Souza (pectoral strain) is again out of the Diamondbacks' lineup for Monday's game at Milwaukee.
Analysis: Souza also sat out the final two games of Arizona's weekend series with the Mets, but the fact that the team hasn't put him on the DL can be viewed as a positive. Still, the injury should be considered a lingering concern, as the offseason addition missed all of April after hurting the same muscle in spring training and is just 7 for 42 (.167) with one RBI thus far in 2018.
May 18 6:49 PM PT7:49 PM MT8:49 PM CT9:49 PM ET21:49 ET1:49 GMT9:49 6:49 PM MST8:49 PM EST9:19 PM VEN5:49 UAE (+1)8:49 PM CT-Steven Souza Jr. went 1 for 3 Friday as the Arizona Diamondbacks fell to the New York Mets 3-1. Souza Jr. scored once. He ended the game with a .167 batting average.
May 16 3:48 PM PT4:48 PM MT5:48 PM CT6:48 PM ET18:48 ET22:48 GMT6:48 3:48 PM MST5:48 PM EST6:18 PM VEN2:48 UAE (+1)5:48 PM CT-Steven Souza Jr. went 1 for 3 Wednesday as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 8-2. He ended the game with a .154 batting average.
May 16 9:24 PM PT10:24 PM MT11:24 PM CT12:24 AM ET0:24 ET4:24 GMT12:24 9:24 PM MST11:24 PM EST11:54 PM VEN8:24 UAE11:24 PM CT-Steven Souza Jr. went 0 for 3 Tuesday as the Arizona Diamondbacks beat the Milwaukee Brewers 2-1. He ended the game with a .139 batting average.
May 15 9:48 PM PT10:48 PM MT11:48 PM CT12:48 AM ET0:48 ET4:48 GMT12:48 9:48 PM MST11:48 PM EST12:18 AM VEN8:48 UAE11:48 PM CT-Steven Souza Jr. went 2 for 4 with a double and an RBI Monday as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 7-2. He ended the game with a .152 batting average.
May 13 8:19 PM PT9:19 PM MT10:19 PM CT11:19 PM ET23:19 ET3:19 GMT11:19 8:19 PM MST10:19 PM EST10:49 PM VEN7:19 UAE (+1)10:19 PM CT-Steven Souza Jr. went 0 for 4 Sunday as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Washington Nationals 6-4. He ended the game with a .103 batting average.
May 12 4:25 PM PT5:25 PM MT6:25 PM CT7:25 PM ET19:25 ET23:25 GMT7:25 4:25 PM MST6:25 PM EST6:55 PM VEN3:25 UAE (+1)6:25 PM CT-Steven Souza Jr. went 0 for 4 Saturday as the Arizona Diamondbacks fell to the Washington Nationals 2-1. He ended the game with a .120 batting average.
Analysis: Souza emphatically tossed his bat after a called third strike to end the eighth inning, and was ejected by home plate umpire Doug Eddings. Souza proceeded to argue with Eddings for much of the break before the top of the ninth. It was his first career ejection.
May 12 9:06 PM PT10:06 PM MT11:06 PM CT12:06 AM ET0:06 ET4:06 GMT12:06 9:06 PM MST11:06 PM EST11:36 PM VEN8:06 UAE11:06 PM CT-Steven Souza Jr. went 0 for 1 Friday as the Arizona Diamondbacks fell to the Washington Nationals 3-1. He ended the game with a .143 batting average.
May 11 10:25 PM PT11:25 PM MT12:25 AM CT1:25 AM ET1:25 ET5:25 GMT13:25 10:25 PM MST12:25 AM EST12:55 AM VEN9:25 UAE12:25 AM CT-Steven Souza Jr. went 1 for 5 Thursday as the Arizona Diamondbacks fell to the Washington Nationals 2-1. Souza Jr. added a stolen base. He ended the game with a .150 batting average.
May 10 11:01 PM PT12:01 AM MT1:01 AM CT2:01 AM ET2:01 ET6:01 GMT14:01 11:01 PM MST1:01 AM EST1:31 AM VEN10:01 UAE1:01 AM CT-Steven Souza Jr. went 0 for 2 Wednesday as the Arizona Diamondbacks fell to the Los Angeles Dodgers 6-3. He ended the game with a .133 batting average.
May 9 11:48 PM PT12:48 AM MT1:48 AM CT2:48 AM ET2:48 ET6:48 GMT14:48 11:48 PM MST1:48 AM EST2:18 AM VEN10:48 UAE1:48 AM CT-Steven Souza Jr. went 2 for 3 Tuesday as the Arizona Diamondbacks topped the Los Angeles Dodgers 8-5. He ended the game with a .154 batting average.
May 6 4:07 PM PT5:07 PM MT6:07 PM CT7:07 PM ET19:07 ET23:07 GMT7:07 4:07 PM MST6:07 PM EST6:37 PM VEN3:07 UAE (+1)6:07 PM CT-Steven Souza Jr. went 0 for 3 Sunday as the Arizona Diamondbacks topped the Houston Astros 3-1. He ended the game with a .000 batting average.
May 5 8:47 PM PT9:47 PM MT10:47 PM CT11:47 PM ET23:47 ET3:47 GMT11:47 8:47 PM MST10:47 PM EST11:17 PM VEN7:47 UAE (+1)10:47 PM CT-Steven Souza Jr. went 0 for 3 Saturday as the Arizona Diamondbacks beat the Houston Astros 4-3. He ended the game with a .000 batting average.
May 3 4:04 PM PT5:04 PM MT6:04 PM CT7:04 PM ET19:04 ET23:04 GMT7:04 4:04 PM MST6:04 PM EST6:34 PM VEN3:04 UAE (+1)6:04 PM CT-Steven Souza Jr. went 0 for 4 Thursday as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-2. He ended the game with a .000 batting average.
Mar. 22 10:50 PM PT11:50 PM MT12:50 AM CT1:50 AM ET1:50 ET5:50 GMT13:50 10:50 PM MST12:50 AM EST1:20 AM VEN9:50 UAE11:50 PM CT-Souza (pectoral strain) has been activated from the DL and will make his Diamondbacks' debut in Thursday's game against the Dodgers.
Analysis: Souza will bat fifth and play right field, likely his primary position with Arizona. Acquired from the Rays this offseason, the 29-year-old is coming off a fantasy-appealing 2017 campaign in which he hit 30 homers, stole 16 bases and knocked in 78 runs.
Feb. 20 5:15 PM PT6:15 PM MT7:15 PM CT8:15 PM ET20:15 ET1:15 GMT9:15 6:15 PM MST8:15 PM EST8:45 PM VEN5:15 UAE (+1)7:15 PM CT-Souza was traded to the Diamondbacks on Tuesday as part of a three-team deal that also involved the Yankees.
Analysis: Souza helps fill the outfield power void left in the Diamondbacks' lineup by J.D. Martinez's departure. Souza batted .239 with a career-high 30 home runs and 78 RBIs last year.

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.