MLB Player Stats - James Shields - Chi White Sox

MLB Baseball
News | Scoreboard | Matchups | Stats | Standings | Teams | Players | Player News | Injuries | Transactions
#33
James Shields
ERA W-L K
4.48 7-16 148
Team: Chi White SoxHt / Wt: 6-3 / 210
Position: SPBorn: 12/20/1981 Birthplace: Newhall, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 16th Round by Devil Rays (2000)


Latest News
Sep. 20 8:35 PM PT9:35 PM MT10:35 PM CT11:35 PM ET23:35 ET3:35 GMT11:35 8:35 PM MST10:35 PM EST9:35 PM CST11:05 PM VEN7:35 UAE (+1)10:35 PM CT-James Shields allowed two runs on five hits and three walks in 6.0 innings as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Cleveland Indians 5-4 on Thursday. Shields struck out one, ending the game with a 4.48 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 14 7:49 PM PT8:49 PM MT9:49 PM CT10:49 PM ET22:49 ET2:49 GMT10:49 7:49 PM MST9:49 PM EST8:49 PM CST10:19 PM VEN6:49 UAE (+1)9:49 PM CT-James Shields improved to 7-16, allowing two runs on four hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 8-6 on Friday. Shields struck out five, ending the game with a 4.53 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 8 8:04 PM PT9:04 PM MT10:04 PM CT11:04 PM ET23:04 ET3:04 GMT11:04 8:04 PM MST10:04 PM EST9:04 PM CST10:34 PM VEN7:04 UAE (+1)10:04 PM CT-James Shields fell to 6-16, allowing six runs on nine hits and one walk in 4.1 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Los Angeles Angels 12-3 on Saturday. Shields struck out one, ending the game with a 4.58 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 2 2:59 PM PT3:59 PM MT4:59 PM CT5:59 PM ET17:59 ET21:59 GMT5:59 2:59 PM MST4:59 PM EST3:59 PM CST5:29 PM VEN1:59 UAE (+1)4:59 PM CT-James Shields improved to 6-15, allowing four hits and two walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Boston Red Sox 8-0 on Sunday. Shields struck out six, ending the game with a 4.39 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 28 7:18 PM PT8:18 PM MT9:18 PM CT10:18 PM ET22:18 ET2:18 GMT10:18 7:18 PM MST9:18 PM EST8:18 PM CST9:48 PM VEN6:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-James Shields allowed two runs on four hits and four walks in 5.2 innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the New York Yankees 5-4 on Tuesday. Shields struck out three, ending the game with a 4.54 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 23 1:01 PM PT2:01 PM MT3:01 PM CT4:01 PM ET16:01 ET20:01 GMT4:01 1:01 PM MST3:01 PM EST2:01 PM CST3:31 PM VEN0:01 UAE (+1)3:01 PM CT-James Shields fell to 5-15, allowing seven runs on 10 hits and one walk in 6.2 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Detroit Tigers 7-2 on Thursday. Shields struck out five, ending the game with a 4.59 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 17 8:11 PM PT9:11 PM MT10:11 PM CT11:11 PM ET23:11 ET3:11 GMT11:11 8:11 PM MST10:11 PM EST9:11 PM CST10:41 PM VEN7:11 UAE (+1)10:11 PM CT-James Shields improved to 5-14, allowing three runs on six hits and two walks in 7.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Kansas City Royals 9-3 on Friday. Shields struck out five, ending the game with a 4.39 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 11 7:22 PM PT8:22 PM MT9:22 PM CT10:22 PM ET22:22 ET2:22 GMT10:22 7:22 PM MST9:22 PM EST8:22 PM CST9:52 PM VEN6:22 UAE (+1)9:22 PM CT-James Shields fell to 4-14, allowing three runs - two earned - on seven hits in 7.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Cleveland Indians 3-1 on Saturday. Shields struck out four, ending the game with a 4.41 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 5 1:51 PM PT2:51 PM MT3:51 PM CT4:51 PM ET16:51 ET20:51 GMT4:51 1:51 PM MST3:51 PM EST2:51 PM CST4:21 PM VEN0:51 UAE (+1)3:51 PM CT-James Shields allowed four runs - two earned - on five hits and four walks in 6.0 innings as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 8-7 on Sunday. Shields struck out six, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
July 31 8:25 PM PT9:25 PM MT10:25 PM CT11:25 PM ET23:25 ET3:25 GMT11:25 8:25 PM MST10:25 PM EST9:25 PM CST10:55 PM VEN7:25 UAE (+1)10:25 PM CT-James Shields fell to 4-13, allowing four runs on five hits and three walks in 7.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Kansas City Royals 4-2 on Tuesday. Shields struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.56 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
July 26 10:15 PM PT11:15 PM MT12:15 AM CT1:15 AM ET1:15 ET5:15 GMT13:15 10:15 PM MST12:15 AM EST11:15 PM CST12:45 AM VEN9:15 UAE12:15 AM CT-James Shields fell to 4-12, allowing six runs on seven hits and three walks in 4.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Los Angeles Angels 11-3 on Wednesday. Shields struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.53 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
July 21 9:53 PM PT10:53 PM MT11:53 PM CT12:53 AM ET0:53 ET4:53 GMT12:53 9:53 PM MST11:53 PM EST10:53 PM CST12:23 AM VEN8:53 UAE11:53 PM CT-James Shields fell to 4-11, allowing two runs - one earned - on seven hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Seattle Mariners 3-1 on Friday. Shields struck out five, ending the game with a 4.26 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
July 13 8:48 PM PT9:48 PM MT10:48 PM CT11:48 PM ET23:48 ET3:48 GMT11:48 8:48 PM MST10:48 PM EST9:48 PM CST11:18 PM VEN7:48 UAE (+1)10:48 PM CT-James Shields improved to 4-10, allowing four runs - two earned - on five hits and two walks in 6.2 innings, as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Kansas City Royals 9-6 on Friday. Shields struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.43 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
July 7 4:34 PM PT5:34 PM MT6:34 PM CT7:34 PM ET19:34 ET23:34 GMT7:34 4:34 PM MST6:34 PM EST5:34 PM CST7:04 PM VEN3:34 UAE (+1)6:34 PM CT-James Shields fell to 3-10, allowing eight runs on 10 hits and two walks in 5.2 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Houston Astros 12-6 on Saturday. Shields struck out nine, ending the game with a 4.53 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
July 2 7:33 PM PT8:33 PM MT9:33 PM CT10:33 PM ET22:33 ET2:33 GMT10:33 7:33 PM MST9:33 PM EST8:33 PM CST10:03 PM VEN6:33 UAE (+1)9:33 PM CT-James Shields allowed one run on four hits and four walks in 6.2 innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Cincinnati Reds 5-3 on Monday. Shields struck out three, ending the game with a 4.12 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
June 27 8:12 PM PT9:12 PM MT10:12 PM CT11:12 PM ET23:12 ET3:12 GMT11:12 8:12 PM MST10:12 PM EST9:12 PM CST10:42 PM VEN7:12 UAE (+1)10:12 PM CT-James Shields improved to 3-9, allowing four hits and two walks over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Minnesota Twins 6-1 on Wednesday. Shields struck out five, ending the game with a 4.29 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
June 22 4:19 PM PT5:19 PM MT6:19 PM CT7:19 PM ET19:19 ET23:19 GMT7:19 4:19 PM MST6:19 PM EST5:19 PM CST6:49 PM VEN3:19 UAE (+1)6:19 PM CT-James Shields fell to 2-9, allowing eight runs - two earned - on five hits and two walks in 4.2 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Oakland Athletics 11-2 on Friday. Shields struck out four, ending the game with a 4.59 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
June 17 2:14 PM PT3:14 PM MT4:14 PM CT5:14 PM ET17:14 ET21:14 GMT5:14 2:14 PM MST4:14 PM EST3:14 PM CST4:44 PM VEN1:14 UAE (+1)4:14 PM CT-James Shields fell to 2-8, allowing three runs on six hits and four walks in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Detroit Tigers 3-1 on Sunday. Shields struck out five, ending the game with a 4.63 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
June 12 8:12 PM PT9:12 PM MT10:12 PM CT11:12 PM ET23:12 ET3:12 GMT11:12 8:12 PM MST10:12 PM EST9:12 PM CST10:42 PM VEN7:12 UAE (+1)10:12 PM CT-James Shields improved to 2-7, allowing one run on four hits in 7.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Cleveland Indians 5-1 on Tuesday. Shields struck out two, ending the game with a 4.63 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
June 7 12:28 PM PT1:28 PM MT2:28 PM CT3:28 PM ET15:28 ET19:28 GMT3:28 12:28 PM MST2:28 PM EST1:28 PM CST2:58 PM VEN23:28 UAE2:28 PM CT-James Shields fell to 1-7, allowing seven runs on eight hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Minnesota Twins 7-2 on Thursday. Shields struck out six, ending the game with a 4.92 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
June 2 2:05 PM PT3:05 PM MT4:05 PM CT5:05 PM ET17:05 ET21:05 GMT5:05 2:05 PM MST4:05 PM EST3:05 PM CST4:35 PM VEN1:05 UAE (+1)4:05 PM CT-James Shields fell to 1-6, allowing three runs on eight hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 5-0 on Saturday. Shields struck out six, ending the game with a 4.48 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
May 27 12:30 PM PT1:30 PM MT2:30 PM CT3:30 PM ET15:30 ET19:30 GMT3:30 12:30 PM MST2:30 PM EST1:30 PM CST3:00 PM VEN23:30 UAE2:30 PM CT-James Shields fell to 1-5, allowing three runs on five hits and three walks in 7.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Detroit Tigers 3-2 on Sunday. Shields struck out four, ending the game with a 4.54 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
May 22 8:16 PM PT9:16 PM MT10:16 PM CT11:16 PM ET23:16 ET3:16 GMT11:16 8:16 PM MST10:16 PM EST9:16 PM CST10:46 PM VEN7:16 UAE (+1)10:16 PM CT-James Shields allowed two runs on five hits and two walks in 7.0 innings as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 3-2 on Tuesday. Shields struck out five, ending the game with a 4.62 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
May 17 8:08 PM PT9:08 PM MT10:08 PM CT11:08 PM ET23:08 ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST10:08 PM EST9:08 PM CST10:38 PM VEN7:08 UAE (+1)10:08 PM CT-James Shields allowed one run on three hits and three walks in 7.1 innings as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Texas Rangers 4-2 on Thursday. Shields struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.88 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Shields set season highs in strikeouts and innings for Chicago, but remains winless in nine appearances since he beat Kansas City on opening day on March 29.
May 12 4:58 PM PT5:58 PM MT6:58 PM CT7:58 PM ET19:58 ET23:58 GMT7:58 4:58 PM MST6:58 PM EST5:58 PM CST7:28 PM VEN3:58 UAE (+1)6:58 PM CT-James Shields fell to 1-4, allowing five runs on seven hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Chicago Cubs 8-4 on Saturday. Shields struck out four, ending the game with a 5.44 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The veteran right-hander is winless in seven starts and eight appearances since a season-opening victory at Kansas City.
May 6 2:10 PM PT3:10 PM MT4:10 PM CT5:10 PM ET17:10 ET21:10 GMT5:10 2:10 PM MST4:10 PM EST3:10 PM CST4:40 PM VEN1:10 UAE (+1)4:10 PM CT-James Shields allowed three runs on two hits and two walks in 6.2 innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Minnesota Twins 5-3 on Sunday. Shields struck out five, ending the game with a 5.14 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
May 1 8:16 PM PT9:16 PM MT10:16 PM CT11:16 PM ET23:16 ET3:16 GMT11:16 8:16 PM MST10:16 PM EST9:16 PM CST10:46 PM VEN7:16 UAE (+1)10:16 PM CT-James Shields allowed one run on two hits in 6.0 innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 3-2 on Tuesday. Shields struck out four, ending the game with a 5.35 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 25 2:12 PM PT3:12 PM MT4:12 PM CT5:12 PM ET17:12 ET21:12 GMT5:12 2:12 PM MST4:12 PM EST3:12 PM CST4:42 PM VEN1:12 UAE (+1)4:12 PM CT-James Shields fell to 1-3, allowing four runs on six hits and four walks in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Seattle Mariners 4-3 on Wednesday. Shields struck out four, ending the game with a 6.14 ERA and 1.70 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 8:18 PM PT9:18 PM MT10:18 PM CT11:18 PM ET23:18 ET3:18 GMT11:18 8:18 PM MST10:18 PM EST9:18 PM CST10:48 PM VEN7:18 UAE (+1)10:18 PM CT-James Shields fell to 1-2, allowing seven runs on eight hits and four walks in 5.1 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Houston Astros 10-0 on Friday. Shields struck out four, ending the game with a 6.17 ERA and 1.71 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 18 6:29 PM PT7:29 PM MT8:29 PM CT9:29 PM ET21:29 ET1:29 GMT9:29 6:29 PM MST8:29 PM EST7:29 PM CST8:59 PM VEN5:29 UAE (+1)8:29 PM CT-James Shields fell to 1-1, allowing one run on two hits and two walks in 0.2 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Oakland Athletics 12-11 on Wednesday. Shields did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 11 2:16 PM PT3:16 PM MT4:16 PM CT5:16 PM ET17:16 ET21:16 GMT5:16 2:16 PM MST4:16 PM EST3:16 PM CST4:46 PM VEN1:16 UAE (+1)4:16 PM CT-James Shields allowed one run on four hits and five walks in 6.1 innings as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 2-1 on Wednesday. Shields struck out six, ending the game with a 4.15 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 5 5:21 PM PT6:21 PM MT7:21 PM CT8:21 PM ET20:21 ET0:21 GMT8:21 5:21 PM MST7:21 PM EST6:21 PM CST7:51 PM VEN4:21 UAE (+1)7:21 PM CT-James Shields allowed three runs on eight hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Detroit Tigers 9-7 on Thursday. Shields struck out one, ending the game with a 5.73 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 29 4:45 PM PT5:45 PM MT6:45 PM CT7:45 PM ET19:45 ET23:45 GMT7:45 4:45 PM MST6:45 PM EST5:45 PM CST7:15 PM VEN3:45 UAE (+1)6:45 PM CT-James Shields improved to 1-0, allowing four runs on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Kansas City Royals 14-7 on Thursday. Shields did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.